Need information on unlocking a 3GS iPhone to work on T-Mobile?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Imola Ghost, Jun 5, 2010.

  1. Imola Ghost macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #1
    I'm trying to help out a friend to use a 3GS iphone on his Tmobile network. I've never hacked any of my iphones so please be understanding as I don't even know where to begin. This phone is on version 3.1.3

    Thanks for your help in advance.

    Oh, and any other advice or opinions about this will be helpful.
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #3
    Funny your friend should ask someone with no experience to jailbreak/unlock his phone. :confused:

    Just be sure you don't muck it up as you might end up owing your friend an iPhone.
     
  3. TheConfuzed1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #4
    Just so you know, the phone won't be able to use 3G on T-Mobile.

    Data will be limited to Edge.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Currently you cannot unlock a 3GS model thats been updated to official 3.1.3
    You can only JB it.
    Wait some more time for a new unlock to be released. Thats your only option when it comes to unlocking for tmobile.
     
  5. vertigomhs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #6
    this...

    and apparently an unlock has already been made for 3.1.3 but they won't release it till 4.0 is out

    so the wait shouldn't be too long.
     
  6. BuStOsAvIcH macrumors member

    BuStOsAvIcH

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #7
    Sorry to ask this on someone else's thread but if you're on version 3.1.3 AND on modem firmware 04.26.08, is it still possible to unlock your iPhone through ultrasn0w?
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Yes, that is correct.
     
  8. scirica macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #9
    That's my phone's OS and modem firmware. Using UltraSn0w for unlock when I travel overseas.
     
  9. zachzach8888 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #10
    Is there a solution to unlock 3.1.3 for Tmobile

    Now that 4 is out...is there a solution for 3.1.3 for Tmobile
     
  10. ahfu25 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #11
    Yes. Jailbrake and add this repo... repo666.ultrasn0w.com .....then install ultrasn0w and your all set.....this was just released
     

Share This Page