Need more RAM in 24" Imac, getting a 27"

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by chrisandersen, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. chrisandersen macrumors 6502

    chrisandersen

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #1
    I have to use Fusion for XP for a couple of work related programs (quickbooks being one of them). My 24" imac will only hold 4 gb. Along with all the rest of mac programs running, I'm constantly swapping out. Plus the HD is only 320 and had to move media files to external drive.
    So, I love the idea of having at least 8 gb in the machine, that way I can give Fusion 3 gb for XP (currently giving it 1 gb).
    Money is not an issue, but it doesn't grow on trees here either. But, I want this one to last (the 24" is only 2 years old).
    The i7 upgrade is cheap enough, but do I pay the extra for 8 gb of ram (2 x 4 gb) to leave expansion (to 16gb) later?
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Max out the RAM in your current machine, it can take 6GB
     
  3. chrisandersen thread starter macrumors 6502

    chrisandersen

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #3
    Ran the Crucial scanner and it still reports max at 4gb.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
  5. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #5

    Hey have you checked the application mactracker or there is also a website I think macupgrades that will tell you your machine does unofficially support 6gb
     
  6. Flynnstone macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #6
    I have the same problem, sort of. Parallels though.

    So I can just buy a 4 gig stick and drop it in?
    end up with 6 gig.
    Any speed issues with a 4 & 2 gig RAM?
     
  7. darkplanets macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #7
    Ive always wondered about this...

    Since the 4 and 2 won't be paired (unlike the 2x2), would the speed really be impacted greatly?

    If my memory serves me correctly, there's only a small % increase to gain from paired sticks. Now if only someone would modify it so the memory controller could recognize more...
     
  8. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #8
    You're correct, the speed really only would be noticed by benchmarks, not by anyone using the computer.
     
  9. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    Matched pairs will enable dual-channeling but it will only help if you're using apps that needs insane memory bandwidth e.g. games. Theoretically, it should work with unmatched pairs too but matched pairs provide the best compatibility. However, I doubt you notice any difference thus the extra 2GB is definitely worth it
     
  10. chrisandersen thread starter macrumors 6502

    chrisandersen

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #10
    Bit the bullet and got a new i7 with 16 GB ram. Going through migration now. Can't wait to throw everything we have at it.
    Going to give the 24 to step daughter. 4 GB should do her just fine.
     
  11. Sammy Cat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    North America
    #11
    Don't ever underestimate Webkinz!:)
     
  12. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW

Share This Page