Need older mac to learn Final Cut Pro 5.1 on

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by timn420, Apr 10, 2009.

1. timn420 macrumors newbie

I'm trying to get back in to video making after graduating with a Radio/TV degree several years ago.

I really don't need a top of the line mac since I'm just starting out with basic editing again. I would like to use Final Cut Pro 5.1.

I was thinking of keeping my budget around $1500. I'm pressed for cash because I'll probably eventually purchase a new HD camera (Vixia) later on. Currently I just have a Sony Digital 8 (DCR-TRV460). I'm torn between purchasing something like a macbook pro 2.4ghz vs something a little older.

Any suggestions?

2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

I have a 7 year old G4 tower that is adequate to do basic stuff in FCP using DV footage. Any Mac currently made far exceeds the base level requirements. Motion and Color have stiffer hardware requirements though and you'll get more bang for you buck by getting a desktop instead of a laptop. Speaking of laptops, the new unibody MacBooks are pretty much useless for video editing because they don't have a FW port. The white MB is still okay though because it has FW.

Lethal

3. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

bigbossbmb

i'd suggest a refurb MBP in the $1300-1500 range. like Lethal said, anything you buy from apple now will run FCP v5.1 with no problems (Motion might be a little slow, but still very usable).

4. timn420 thread starter macrumors newbie

I'm looking at two options right now for running Fina Cut 5.1.

1) Refurb Imac from Apple: ($1199)

24-inch glossy widescreen display
    2GB memory
    320GB hard drive
    8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO with 256MB memory

2) Used 15" Macbook Pro 2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo ($1295)

Memory 1 GB ( 2 GB Max.)
    Harddrive 120 GB
    ATI Mobility Radeon X1600 256mb