Need Opinion: New iMac, VRAM?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by FrankySavvy, May 29, 2011.

1. FrankySavvy macrumors 65816

So I am about to purchase the new iMac 27" i7 3.4Ghz, however I have been going back and forth whether I should get the 1GB or 2GB VRAM.

I am a Graphic Designer, which will be mostly what I am doing on my machine. Photoshop, InDesign, Illustrator etc..

However, I do like to game on occasion.....
    I would like to run games like StarCraft 2 and DOW II, which I know shouldn't be a problem.

However will the 1GB of ram be good enough to run upcoming games like:

Battlefield 3, Diablo 3 and The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

??

Will the graphics card bottleneck out before the 2GB VRam even be used???

Please help......

-Franky

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

At least in Portal, the 1GB version is actually slightly faster (though could be due to the CPU too): http://www.barefeats.com/imac11c.html

The extra VRAM might help in some future games but I doubt the difference would be dramatical.

3. Georgio macrumors 6502

Georgio

I had the1GB i7 3.4 and felt the GPU was bottle-necking the system,(it was faulty) so gave it back and got the 2GB variant.

I can only comment about world of Warcraft ATM but it is a lot smoother and I'm getting 60+ fps at 2550x1440 so I'm more than happy.

I also run Illustrator and photoshop as a designer, but the VRAM makes no difference for these apps anyways. System RAM is what you need for these, I'd recommend about 12GB depending on your usage.

For the difference in cost, £80 in the UK the upgrade was a no brainer to be honest, the only hassle is the week wait while they build the system, assuming you don't want an SSD ofc.

4. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

MythicFrost