Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

IPadNParadise

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 12, 2013
I am a beginner in DSLR photography. I have had a Macbook Pro for three years now and, with everyone, recently transitioned to Photos. Until I got into Photography, I was happy and had no problems. Still have very few. But I take photos of my two Shih Tzu puppies and there are some I want to print in 4 x 6 size. I cannot get the photo sized correctly in Photos, in Finder Preview (upon exporting) or on the print screen so as not to cut off the side or else the top of the photo. It looks fine before I ask it to print but it prints as a very unattractive chopped somewhere dog portrait. I have looked on the internet in general and cant find a solution to this.

I have an HP 3520 deskjet wireless printer. I have El Capitan 10.11.1 on my MBP. Can anyone give me some advice as to how to set, IDK maybe aspect? If so, please keep it simple, I'm a retired person who didnt grow up with computers. Thank you for any help you can be.

obeygiant

macrumors 601
Jan 14, 2002
totally cool
I am a beginner in DSLR photography. I have had a Macbook Pro for three years now and, with everyone, recently transitioned to Photos. Until I got into Photography, I was happy and had no problems. Still have very few. But I take photos of my two Shih Tzu puppies and there are some I want to print in 4 x 6 size. I cannot get the photo sized correctly in Photos, in Finder Preview (upon exporting) or on the print screen so as not to cut off the side or else the top of the photo. It looks fine before I ask it to print but it prints as a very unattractive chopped somewhere dog portrait. I have looked on the internet in general and cant find a solution to this.