Need quick advice!!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bentrider, Jul 8, 2010.

1. bentrider macrumors member

Sorry for the spazzy title. I have a four year old Macbook that is NOT well. Long story short is that the HD is just FULL and the processor just can't handle podcasting anymore. Now it's taken to crashing about three times a day. REALLY freaking out about losing the HD and all the data. (No I don't back it up like I should) Was going to wait until the rumored touch screen iMacs come out and go all out with a big 27 incher. I have an iPad and don't travel with a computer very often anymore. But now my computer is getting bad so...

If I buy a $1200 iMac this weekend and the touchscreens are announced next month I'll beat myself up for weeks. BUT... If I get a new $1200 Macbook Pro I know that won't be replaced as soon. And I'm used to a 13" screen anyway. So...

I'm a writer and podcaster. I do a fair amount of photo editing and SOME movie editing for my stand-up comedy but nothing crazy. Mostly just for internet use. Will the base MacBook Pro do me fine? My current Macbook is ALMOST good enough but I don't want something that's just "a bit" better.

2. DHagan4755 macrumors 6502a

DHagan4755

Dude get the 13" MacBook Pro. The touch screen iMac is just a rumor even though new iMacs are due for an update.

3. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

Do you really want to write and edit photos and music and movies via holding your arms out all the time, just so you can touch the controls?

Get the base MacBook or 13" MacBook Pro, they will do their job just fine, even the current iMacs are somewhat capable to do that.

Even though some might get annoyed of reading this, the thread title guy strikes again:

A more descriptive and precise thread title will help cater to the right audience and get you more responses. (see rule #3 under Minor Problems)