Need reasonably priced 2008 dual 2.8 or 3.0GHz logic board

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jickerson, Aug 18, 2012.

  1. jickerson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    #1
    Hi, the logic board on my 2008 Mac Pro just got fried and I'm in desperate need of a replacement. I looked through online sellers but couldn't find one cheaper than $600-750. I've also tried ebay and craigslist. Are there any other places that i should look? I'm still in grad school and can't really afford the replacements i've seen.
     
  2. m1kygarcia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    #2
    We are on the same boat!! My suggestion is to get another Mac, or search for a refurbished one, the issue here is the warranty. Apple only gives you 90 days warranty if you replace it by their store.

    So my suggestion is to invest your money in another newer mac, you could get second hand mac with warranty for about the same price.
     
  3. Lou2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    #3
    Keep Looking

    Hi,
    Just had an independent Apple tec replace my logic board for $1,000 including labor (2008 macpro). It's been a week and it seems to be working fine. I was thinking of buying refurb iMac but this fix lets me wait for new models. I like a matte screen (no reflection) so I'm not interested at the moment. My MacbookAir handled almost everything, including external monitor (24) while Pro was in shop. If tec charged me a grand, I'm guessing the board cost $500. Much of your decision depends on present buying options. If you want an air or macbook pro, nows the time.
     
  4. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
  5. jickerson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
  6. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #6
    At that price I'd scrap it for parts. The OP could see if depot service is offered assuming an Apple Store is nearby.
     
  7. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #7
  8. jickerson, Aug 21, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2012

    jickerson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    #8
    Well, after a long adventurous process it turns out that it was my video card that was bad and not the logic board (even though a supposedly compatible card didn't work either). Unfortunately, I had already found and bought a single processor 2.8 that I was going to salvage for the logic board. Since I don't need it anymore, if anyone is in need of a logic board get ahold of me on this thread and we can make a deal. I'd prefer not to go through eBay (and get charged 9%) but if I don't get any interest on here within a few days I guess I'll go ahead and do that.

    To try and recoup a decent portion of my money back, I'm asking $500 for the board.

    Cheers
    Jordan
     
  9. Lou2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    #9
    Know what you mean

    Yes, I know what you mean, and I thought about it, and went as far as ordering a new 15" MBP with matt screen, but sent it back on arrival and news that I might have a lower-cost solution. I have external drives that use firewire only, two good screens, and at the moment a sturdy old MP that is working fine for what tasks I need to do. Oh, plus I live in Hawaii and nothing comes cheap, and if anyone breaks into my house and tries to walk away with MP, good luck to them. I'm keeping my fingers crossed the MP will hold up until new imacs or pros are available, and I'm not a true heavy video editor so I'm thinking that not too long from now (when something else goes wrong), a lighter, faster MBA will be the only machine I need.
     
  10. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #10
    That part made me laugh:D. I didn't realize you guys paid way extra in Hawaii. Obviously things can't be trucked there, but I figured with Apple stuff the only difference might be a possible shipping surcharge.
     
  11. Lou2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    #11
    Had to pay extra for shipping parts, and the labor cost is usually higher because of cost of living and limited qualified techs. If someone breaks in and steals my Pro, I'm hoping for hernias.
     

Share This Page