Need Skyrim feedback on 6770 or 6750 only!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by prism, Feb 12, 2012.

  1. prism macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #1
    I've been wondering what fps you are getting and what you find is the optimal settings for you. I have searched the web but whenever the 6750 or 6770 are mentioned it is on a pc with 1gb of vram or it is the destop version of the GPU. On this forum everyone boasts about how good skyrim runs on the high end 6970 and that is great but I don't have a high end iMac so all that info is basically useless for me!
    With my settings which included keeping AA and AF either turned of or at a minimum I am getting between 40-60fps, I have the 12.1 drivers and I read somewhere that they should be tweaked for optimal gameplay on skyrim.

    Any comments, suggestions welcome.


    TIA
     
  2. ItaniumShock macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
  3. prism thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #3
    Is that it???
    No wonder I can't seem to find any info...LOL
     
  4. prism thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
  5. AcesHigh87 macrumors 6502a

    AcesHigh87

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    #5
    My iMac is the top end 21.5" running the 6770m GPU and the game runs well at high settings. I haven't tried ultra but it looks great without it. I don't have any information on frame rate (haven't checked) but it doesn't seem to lag much at all (a little bit when it first starts up but doesn't last long) and everything looks great.

    I can't say for the 6750m as I haven't used it but it should be able to at least run the game at medium without any problem.
     
  6. prism thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #6
    Thanks, I also have the 6770m so this is very usefull.
     
  7. AcesHigh87 macrumors 6502a

    AcesHigh87

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    #7
    Keep in mind too that I'm running the i7 and 8GB of RAM. The GPU is the main thing holding mac users back but a stronger CPU and nice amount of RAM doesn't hurt.
     
  8. prism thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #8
    I too boosted RAM to 8gigs but I have the i5 CPU. Im getting the impression that what is holding back performance is 512mb of vram instead of the optimal 1gb!
     
  9. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #9
    I have a 2009 iMac with 4850 and it runs great in 2560x1440 high settings, so I don't know why you would have a problem even on ultra.
     
  10. prism thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #10
    Somethings seriously wrong here, if I were to run at the settings you suggest, mine would slow to a crawl!!! I can barely get good framerates on medium/high and that is if I switch off AA and AF!
     
  11. AcesHigh87 macrumors 6502a

    AcesHigh87

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    #11
    I only have 512 as well and it runs fine though. The only thing different between our systems it seems is the i7 vs. i5 although that shouldn't be making a significant difference.

    For all I know mine is playing at the same frame rate as yours and I just don't realize it. For it it runs as well as I was expecting though.
     
  12. prism thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #12
    I read somewhere that running fraps can slow things down, is there any truth in this?
     
  13. mattkidd macrumors regular

    mattkidd

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom England Northants
    #13
    I have skyrim running at around 45fps-50ps with High Settings on my 6750m, although i have it OC it to 1000mhz/855mhz at 1.055v :)
     
  14. AcesHigh87 macrumors 6502a

    AcesHigh87

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    #14

    Not sure. Fraps is small but, in theory, it could affect performance as Skyrim is likely trying to use all of your system and Fraps is getting in the way. I’ve never had Fraps on my mac though (did on PC years ago) so I can’t say for certain.
     
  15. Hirakata macrumors 6502

    Hirakata

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    #15
    I have the same machine and it runs great for me on high as well.
     

Share This Page