Need solution to my TorontoMLS.net problem

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Shinobe, Apr 1, 2008.

  1. Shinobe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    www.torontomls.net

    Is there a work-around to opening this "IE 5.5" only website? I thought about installing a duel-OS just for winXP for the browser but I think thats just overkill.

    Thanks in advance...
     
  2. ImacDave89 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #2
    I too need to use this site, does anyone have any ideas?
     
  3. chriscl macrumors 6502

    chriscl

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, England
    #3
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    That will only work on Windows as it requires IE to work. All that does is run IE in a tab...
     
  5. scienide09 macrumors 65816

    scienide09

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Tell them that their lack of support for users running a non-Windows environment is ridiculous, and take your business elsewhere?

    MS stopped supporting IE for Macs in what, late 2005? So the site you're trying to reach is 2-3 years out of date. From a business perspective, that's disconcerting.
     
  6. ImacDave89 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #6

    I would love to take my business elsewhere, unfortunately I'm a real estate agent, and this site is exclusive to agents...No site, no work:(
     
  7. scienide09 macrumors 65816

    scienide09

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    So, is this just the MLS listings, but Toronto specific? If so, why not just use the main MLS listings? Sorry, I'm not in the industry, so I don't know the difference between these two.

    As for the browser compatibility, the fact that the site is not updated should still be a warning to you as a business person. You're right when you say "no site, no work," but as someone who (presumably) pays for that service, think about the fact that you're work is now dependent on technology that the service provider is too lazy to upgrade. That's not a healthy business relationship for you as a customer, nor for your customers.
     
  8. 4now macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #8
    At least I do not get the unsupported browser message when I try it with Opera

    But I'm not registered - so can't try logging in
     
  9. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #9
    Try Opera or masking your browser ID as IE 5.5?
     
  10. ostracario macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    #10
    TorontoMLS - Mac

    Found this on the MLS site, in Tips & Tricks:

    TorontoMLS MacIntosh Users
    Members who wish to access TorontoMLS from a MacIntosh operating system can now do so with the new Safari Browser and OS10.2 using a software enhancer and debugger. Without this software MacIntosh users will experience limited TMLS functionality. For more information regarding this browser please visit http://www.apple.com/safari/. To download the enhancer please visit http://gordon.sourcecod.com/safari_enhancer.php, to download the debugger please visit http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/17952&vid=103820. TorontoMLS is a PC operational system and therefore TREB support staff are qualified to answer all PC related inquires.

    Need to figure out how to use the MLS on my iPhone. Hope this helps!
     
  11. donuttakedonuts macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #11
    Stupid browser specific sites.. most annoying things ever.
     
  12. ostracario macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    #12
    Better info...

    Found this & it works!

    unplugged.torontomls.net

    Not as good as the mls online but it's a good tool!
     

Share This Page