Need some Advice about getting a Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by KBS756, Jan 6, 2015.

  1. KBS756, Jan 6, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 7, 2015

    KBS756 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #1
    Hey,

    I am strongly considering getting a 12 Core 2013 nMP and would like some advice from the knowledgable members on here.

    I am leaning towards getting a 2.7 GHz 12 Core with 32GB RAM and 512 GB SSD dual D700s. I do some video editing and photo editing but mainly I would be buying this for 3D work I am doing (as a student) in The Foundry's Modo. And from past experience with my current Mac Pro I know that rendering on a 12 Core is much faster than on the lower core count models.

    I will be asking my dad to lease it for me through his company so I figure it's best I don't mess with upgrades I could have done to save a buck.

    So I would appreciate if anyone has any advice on if thesis the correct spec I should be looking at?

    I will be using my Old MP to render things, both animation and jewelry Stills for work.

    Also since the internal storage on an nMP is very limited what would everyone on here suggest for additional storage (I don't need any crazy 750 MB/s transfer rates but I am hoping to find a 4 - 8 TB external Thunderbolt solution at a reasonable price)

    Lastly I am looking at replacing my 24 in Cinema Display and buying a 4K VESA display to go along with my a new MP. Would anyone have any suggestions for the best IPS 4K panel at around 1000-1200 dollars?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Verdenshersker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #2
    One of best 4K I have seen at $1k is http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1081065-REG/benq_bl3201ph_32_3840x2160_uhd_ips.html

    By the way, compared to your current setup, I doubt the nMP will be a lot faster...
    Is it really needed or is it something you just want?

    Make since if you need two computers and don't wanna buy something older
     
  3. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #3
    Need a render slave for work for my dad's business gonna let my cMP be used for that and replace it with a nMP and use the cMP for animation things as well when there isn't Business work it's doing.

    I basically need 2 computers ... I realize I can build a render slave cheaper but I admit I do want a new nMP and my cMP can be very noisy and annoying at times. (under load specifically). Also I'd prefer to buy something newer than pick up another cMP

    Haven't heard of this monitor yet will look into it thanks.
     
  4. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4
    I have no thoughts on whether a 12-core D700 machine is appropriate for what you do, but if it isn't, I would be left wondering what is?

    As for storage, if you want cheap and cheerful, just get a single 4-5GB external USB3 drive. If you want more storage ore performance get a Thunderbay IV or 4 from OWC with a couple of 4TB drives.

    For a display, I just purchased a pair of Dell P2715Q 4K displays for my nMP and they are very good. They can be had for around $600-$700 and so far seem to be the best choice out there for 4K displays unless you need Adobe RGB in which case there's not much choice right now except for year old stuff which is getting long in the tooth and based on MST tech. If you only need a single display, another choice might be the upcoming 5K displays from Dell or HP.
     
  5. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #5
    Thanks for the reply I was more hoping for confirmation that on Single Core tasks the D700 would still be faster than my current Mac Pro, and not too far below the lower core counter parts.

    Thanks will look into a Thunderbay for the purpose of storage, seems to be better bang for the buck then most of what I see out there.

    I currently have a 27in Cinema display on a VESA arm about 18 inches from me, would a 4K (3860x2160) at native resolution be problematic to use in terms of reading web pages and normal use of programs on a 27 in 4k display? I currently have a 15 in Retina Macbook Pro that I use at native resolution without any issues. Was looking at 32 in Monitors because I am a little worried about that.

    Also where did you find the Dell P2715Q in stock? I am looking but BH and others don't seem to have it yet.

    Thanks for the advice, it is very much appreciated!
     
  6. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #6
    Need some Advice about getting a Mac Pro


    The Pixel density of your rMBP is over 200PPI... I'm really surprised (and a bit skeptical) you find that comfortable at native... Are you sure you don't mean "Best for Display" resolution or some scaled setting? If you're actually using a 15" 2880x1800 natively, you must have incredibly good eyesight or sit with your nose to the screen. :)

    A 27" 4K display is about 165PPI so things will appear larger at native resolution than your rMBP assuming you're not mixed up. A 32" 4K display is around 137PPI which is not far away from your 27" Display (110PPI). Obviously the more PPI, the more density, the smaller text and UI is rendered at native resolution. However, most people using high density (PPI) displays are running some scaled resolution. Most run their retina laptops at a scaling factor of somewhere between native and x2 "Best for display" which renders an ultra sharp 1920x1080 desktop on a 4K display.

    I run my 4K displays at a scaled resolution that provides a 3008x1690 desktop which offers a nice balance between real-estate and sharpness. Text is very sharp.

    You should play around with different scaled resolutions on your rMBP to really be sure what effective PPI and scaling factor you can comfortably use, and then figure out what size 4K display is a good match for you... It may be 24, 27, or 32.

    I bought my Dell displays from... Dell... Are they also out of stock at Dell?
     
  7. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #7
    Was checking my normal Shopping sites, BH Photo Video, Newegg and such ... Should have checked Dell, seems like they have them in stock, though I'm not sure that a leasing company would include multiple vendors under the same lease contract, have to check that. Might just pay that one straight up if I have to.

    I am using 2880 x 1800 natively ... most of the time I get by on this fine, although others who use my laptop have a hard time reading it. Seems 4K on a 27 should be fine for me then, thanks again for the reply.
     

Share This Page