Need some advice on downgrading to Mavericks

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by LePL, Jan 31, 2016.

  1. LePL macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I have been running El Capitan for about 2 weeks now, but I only discovered today that the audio interface I use to record music (an M-Audio Fast Track Ultra) is not supported on El Capitan. Basically, it is not recognized at all by my computer (doesn't show up in the sound system preferences) even after reinstalling the latest drivers.

    Knowing that M-Audio has stopped making this product, it could take a really long time for them to make a new driver, if they do make a new one... So I'd like to downgrade from El Capitan in order to solve that problem.

    Now, I don't have a time machine backup, but I have an old backup I made on an external hard drive with SuperDuper in September 2015. At this time I was running Mavericks. I have read several articles about downgrading from El Capitan without Time Machine and they all mention making a bootable version of the previous system on an USB drive and using that to downgrade.

    I probably could do that but I was wondering if I could use a simpler solution: how about I start my computer from my September 2015 backup disk, move all the files I created and made changes to since then from my computer's drive (which is running El Capitan), make sure everything works, and then copy the now-complete Mavericks backup onto my computer's hard drive? Not sure is that's clear, I hope you get the idea...

    Do you think that would work and if so, can you recommend a way of moving the data that was created/changed between Sept 2015 and now onto my backup drive?
     
  2. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #2
    First off, Avid would be the ones making the driver for the Fast Track Ultra (I have that interface and a Digi 002r). When that driver will be out, who knows. Prob better off grabbing a Foucusrite interface as that is supported on El Cap.

    As to your restore question...if the backup you made with Superduper is an actual clone of your drive from September of 2015, you should be able to clone that right back to your main HD. All you'd have to do is boot from your external, run Superduper to clone to your main HD, then boot into your main HD. Just make sure to move any files on your current HD off so you don't lose them. Again, this is assuming your 2025 backup is a working clone.
     
  3. LePL thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    #3
    Hi there, thanks for your answer. Unfortunately I'm not thinking of buying a new audio interface considering my M-Audio one cost me at least 300 € back in the day and it's working good (when it's compatible with my computer, that is)...

    Yes, the old backup is an actual clone of my hard drive from back then. So, from what you're saying it looks like the process should be quite simple. The only thing I am still not sure about is moving all my recent data onto my Mavericks HD. Is there a convenient way to make my old backup up to date with my current data, while still having it run in Mavericks? I guess I could look in the Finder for all the files that have been modified since Sept 2015 and copy them over but that would be a bit messy and I'd still be worried about losing data that way... Any thoughts?
     
  4. Gochugogi macrumors regular

    Gochugogi

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Location:
    Sandwich Isles
    #4
    I'm running 10.11.2 on my Mini's internal drive but, prior to upgrading, cloned the prior system, Mavericks 10.9.5, onto an external SSD. Works great anytime I need to run legacy apps or hardware. I don't have a Fast Track Ultra but my Tascam US-2x2, MOTU Ultralite (FW) and Audioengine D1 all run under 10.11.2 without divers. I can't access some special mixing and effects features without the divers but no biggie since the DAW apps have them.

    I've noticed the sound panel in 10.11x isn't as robust as 10.9.5 and sometimes a DAC won't show up, thus requiring a restart. Also, under Mavericks I could power up a DAC and the Mac would recognize it and automatically select it in the sound panel and app. Under 10.11 I have to select the DAC in both the system panel and the app in order for it to work. For long editing sessions I always use Mavericks to save spare me the extra toil and hassle. 10.11 suffers jerky playback that Mavericks never has.
     
  5. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #5
    That would be the best way.

    Something else you could do is have a dual boot HD. You can create 2 partitions (1 for El Cap other for Mavericks). That way you can still use your interface on Mavericks but also have El Cap for whatevs features you want.
     
  6. LePL thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    #6
    Hi everybody,

    Thanks for the answers. I tried starting my computer with my backup drive and the audio interface actually worked that way, so the problem is definitely coming from El Capitan. That being said I can record by booting from my backup drive so it's not so bad.

    Yeah that actually sounds like the best option when I think about it. So if I'm not wrong to do that I would need to create a partition on my El Cap hard drive, and then use SuperDuper to make a clone of my old backup with Mavericks onto the new partition. Plus that way I won't have to spend so much time moving a bunch of files from my El Cap HD.
     
  7. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #7
    That is correct. Make sure you clone to the right partition. Maybe name the partition "Mavericks" or anything you want.

    And yes it's been confirmed on the Avid forums that the interface is not supported on El Cap. I actually tested yesterday if the older drivers worked but they don't (I have a Digi 002r and the drivers from 2013 are the only ones that work properly).
     
  8. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #8
    OP:

    Have you checked over at the gearslutz.com forums for possible workarounds?

    Lots of audio folks there!
     
  9. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #9
    The interface isn't supported. I've check all different kinds of forums. Avid is flaking on providing a proper driver. Who knows if they'll even release one.
     

Share This Page