Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Abaddon51

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 7, 2010
First off thank you for reading this and giving me your input. Sorry for typing errors in a hurry and on an iPad. My problem is I have a list of things I need to do and enjoy doing but unable to decide on the right apple products that would help me the best.

I am an expedited truck driver for an occupation. I am away from home 10 days and home for 4. My computer setup now is a crappy windows laptop, an iPad, and a rooted verizon phone for wifi access. I leave the laptop at home and just cram as much tv shows as I can on my 64 gb iPad and stream hulu and netflix when I can. I want to upgrade the laptop to a Mac.

Option 1. I can get the MBA 13 ultimate and sell my iPad. Very cost effective. Added battery of MBP with ease of use. Can throw it anywhere and instant on is great when I have to wait a short duration many times like I do in my occupation. Would be my only computer, can do anything I require, and would need to dock it to a portable hdd for extra space. Also I can take advantage of red boxes and able to watch DVDs with added drive.

Option 2. Buy a MBP for bigger hdd and DVD drive built in. May be slightly heavier but less extras. Also costs more, no instant on and probably keep an iPad to make kindle reading easier so have to bring 2 devices instead of 1. Do have iPad games to play around with as well.

Keep in mind in a truck space and comfort is limited and keeping many things charged becomes a pain. Will hdd space and built in drive compensate for bringing more extras like drive and portable hdd with MBA be worth it?

Need some help deciding. Thank you btw. This is also my first Mac so I'm way out of my comfort zone.

mloffa

macrumors 6502a
Jul 13, 2009
In you situation, I'd go with the MBP + iPad combo.