Need some advice on whether to rent camera

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by charpi, Jun 21, 2012.

1. charpi macrumors regular

Hi guys,

I volunteered to help out my friend to help him take photos for him as he is organizing a 3 day camp for international students visiting my school. Please bear in mind that I am no way professional but just a hobbyist who is still learning and improving on photography techniques.

Currently, my camera is the X100.

Here's the question, I plan to buy the D600 (when it is released) with a Sigma f1.4 50mm lens. Should I rent a similar setup now if it costs around $250 USD for the 3 days? (D800 + Sigma f1.4 50mm)

I think that I might need a good camera for action shots. Is this an acceptable choice? Should I spend $250 to "try" new gear and to help my friend out? Or is my current X100 enough? (I don't think my X100's focusing, speed and accuracy is good enough, but maybe that's technique)

Thanks.

2. Rockadile macrumors regular

What kind of action?

Try,

D300s + 35mm 1.8
    or
    D700 + 50mm

3. charpi thread starter macrumors regular

People walking, jogging, normal school orientation camp stuff I guess. I guess it's a bit like street photography, but faster paced.

Thanks for you advice :)

4. avro707 macrumors 6502a

Don't rent a D800, everything else will seem horrible in comparison. :p Or you'll have withdrawal symptoms.

A D300s or a D700 should be fine. Use a nifty-fifty with the D700, or one of those 24-70s if they are in your price range.

5. El Cabong macrumors 6502a

Have you used a Nikon DSLR before? The worst thing to do is to try to force yourself to use an unfamiliar camera/system, as you may miss or flub shots while learning it. If nothing else, rent it for an extra day or two to get used to shooting with it.