Need some assistance with my 15" MBP existing SSD Upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mund, May 7, 2012.

  1. mund, May 7, 2012
    Last edited: May 7, 2012

    mund macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    Great Lake State
    #1
    Hi Folks, Yep another newbie.. :eek:

    I need some advice, I made a new SSD purchase after many hours of head scratching online info searching! I gathered it will work or it won't, regardless of what I have that says it should, even though the same works for the other guy that has the exact set-up. I bought the Samsung 830 512GB

    I will be installing it in my:
    15" MBP (early 2011), 2.2 i7, Antiglare Hi Res, 6750M 1g, 16g ram, and has an Apple installed as built 128 SSD (TRIM Enabled as purch.), have since installed Lion 10.7.3
    *I know that Apple came out with the 6G SATA for the Optibay late 2011, but I show Linkspeed= 6 Gigabit for both the existing SSD & Optibay locations... could it be due to the SSD already installed as new by Apple?

    I have had a few conversations with OWC, I was very close to pulling the Superdrive out and installing a 3G Electra 240gb in there, going 3G to be safe while leaving the 128 SSD as my main drive.

    I changed my tune here though. I plan on replacing my 128 SSD with the Samsung 830 512GB drive just purchased. Setting the 128 SSD aside for now, and leaving the Superdrive installed.

    I do have some relative questions:

    * Should I do a fresh install of Lion & all my software pkg.'s OR use CC / Time Machine to copy/install?__

    * Should I use TRIM right from the start, if it works as it did/came with my 128SSD new Apple built?
    __

    * This Firmware thing for the new Samsung 830, you can only update with Windows7, not with a mac. The only windows sys I have is a 6yr old HP Laptop running XP Pro. If the 830 SSD does not come with the latest firmware, what do I do?_______________________ Then what about subsequent updates...
    I really don't want to use Bootcamp or anything like that... it's an unknown for me, and want my system all mac. I really am striving for a solid system, I hope this SSD won't give me long running issues. While technical, I am not a daily rip my macbook or iMac apart kind of guy, too busy, active dad stuff.

    I apologize for all the stuff I just threw out here... but if you have any tips or helpful advice. I would REALLY appreciate it. I have spent a lot of $$$ here, hope I am on the right track... bottom line, need fast space!

    Thanks in Advance ...
    E J
     
  2. user418 macrumors 6502a

    user418

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    #2
    I have a late 2011 15" MBP running a Samsung SSD.

    Fresh install - to avoid bringing over any "crap" from the old drive
    TRIM - chose not to enable and have experienced no performance issues
    SATA III - 15" does not support in optibay at this time

    BTW, I read a blog post by a guy who did an extensive workaround to make the optibay support 6gb but I decided to wait for a possible fix from Apple. Much too technical for my tastes.

    Just my .02 worth.
     
  3. mund thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    Great Lake State
    #3
    Would a fresh install be necessary if that drive was formatted a month ago, and I since added apps, Aperture, some plug ins, etc.

    Because this is the part that is making me nervous... getting the new drive installed and functional optimally. I have not done any extensive tech stuff with my iMac or MBP just added ram. I've been reading about fresh installs, relative partitions, Bootcamp etc. What am I getting myself into kind of a feeling going on here...
     
  4. Macman756 macrumors 6502a

    Macman756

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  5. user418 macrumors 6502a

    user418

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    #5
    If it was only a month ago my guess is you'd be safe cloning the old drive with something like CCC. Also, I read somewhere that you should remember to verify disk permissions on the old drive before cloning.
     
  6. mund thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    Great Lake State
    #6
    Not selling the 128 SSD at this time...

    Sorry, not selling the 128 SSD at this time... it's a 3g and I may either use it in the opitbay, if not then just keep it and stick it back in this MBP if/when I ever sell it.

    I am considering installing it in the optibay to run windows 7 or ? If I figure out how to do that.
     
  7. mund thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    Great Lake State
    #7
    OK... More help needed!



    Are there certain permissions that must be set on the drive that is to be cloned if I go that route?_____

    Also..
    The MBP came loaded with Snow Leopard, I then installed Lion. However, do I need to install Snow Leopard first to use the application disk for iWork, iLife 11, or can I still use that disk for install after I go directly with the Lion install?___

    I just made a OSX 10.7 Bootable & Install USB which I can use for the fresh install.. never did this before, how do I prep the new SSD for installation (format, partition, etc) or does the install do this?________

    Are there certain settings that should be selected as I install... i.e. Journaled, GUID, or is this automatic upon install..? ________ sorry, i don't know this, all new to me!
     

Share This Page