Need some buying advice. Should I wait?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by topoftherock, Apr 18, 2007.

1. topoftherock macrumors newbie

Ok, Im a newb and this question has probably a repeat.

I am in the market for a new Mac and I have a few questions.

1. Should I wait til after WWDC to make a jump. See if any new hardware is coming out ie, Blk iMac or Possibly Power Mac redesigns? Not to mention any shipping date on the new OS.

2. In your opinions, and I know this is a very subjective question, but I'd like to hear it anyway. I want to go with Power Mac 8 Core with cinema display or 17inch Mac Book with Cinema. Ive never seen a Mac Book with the cinema display, any issues with video card or performance. Any thoughts.

I will be using the computer for mostly photoshop/flash based tasks, but will be handling video for web aswell.

So wait or don't wait, that is the question.
    And which to go with? hahaha

Thanks guys.

2. WillJS macrumors 65816

WillJS

1. Should I wait til after WWDC to make a jump. See if any new hardware is coming out ie, Blk iMac or Possibly Power Mac redesigns? Not to mention any shipping date on the new OS.

If you can wait, I would. If performance upgrades, redesigns aren't primo for you, go now. Its all up to if you NEED now buy. If you can wait, wait.

2. In your opinions, and I know this is a very subjective question, but I'd like to hear it anyway. I want to go with Power Mac 8 Core with cinema display or 17inch Mac Book with Cinema. Ive never seen a Mac Book with the cinema display, any issues with video card or performance. Any thoughts.

Lots of thoughts. First one is: Do you need portability? If yes.. obviously get the MBP. If not, get the MP. I'm not sure what ACD the MBP will push.. a simple search shall give us this answer.