Need Some Cinema Display Opinions

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by lilmitchmitch, Jun 23, 2008.

1. lilmitchmitch macrumors 6502

I am looking to buy either a 20" or 23" Apple Cinema Display, but I have only gotten to see the 30" in person. I am still a student, but looking for another display for added ability to multitask. I have a 15" MBP and have looked into other options, but I would really like the monitor to match the aluminum. I have done some design before, but I am starting to drift away from it, so having colors and such being precise isn't exactly an issue for me. I just want it to look good and serve its purpose.

I've heard some stuff about the display having delay issues? What is that all about? And does anyone know if there is a noticeable difference with the 20" not being "HD"? Or does that just deal with its optimum resolution not being as high as the bigger ones?

I'd like some input from some other people who use a MBP with a ACD, and possibly some pictures? And input from anyone else!!!

2. Full of Win macrumors 68030

Full of Win

The 20 inch and the 23 inch have the same pixel density (DPI), its just that the 20 inch does not have 1080 lines of resolution which is what Apple defines as 'HD', at least for their monitors. I'm an ACD owner, and I must say there is really very little to recommend it, except for a kick ass design and color reproduction. When I bought mine in September 2006, it was a little more than the Dell, and I got a student discount, which made it about even - but since this time, Apple has pretty much let the line atrophy, while keeping prices sky high relative to the competition.

3. lilmitchmitch thread starter macrumors 6502

Yeah, I too will get the student discount, and will be a high school graduation gift from my parents. So the price really isn't an issue (unless we're talking about the 30", which is too big for me anyways).