Need some help deciding what to get.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Trollerizm, Jun 2, 2014.

1. Trollerizm macrumors newbie

Ok guys. First post:D. SO I am a hobby photographer (pretty serious hobbyist though) and am looking at purchasing a mac for photo editing in Photoshop CC. I have a couple options I am trying to decide on:
    I am only at home during the weekdays and go somewhere else on weekends, so portability is somewhat important,
    1. new iMac when it comes out with macbook air (both maxed out)
    2. new Macbook Pro retina (maxed out) with a nice monitor and some spare change for lenses

Which option makes more sense? Is the iMac really that much more powerful? BTW, I do some HTML/CSS website coding on the side and some light gaming.

2. SolarShane macrumors 6502

Not sure if I can help totally, however any type of coding can be done on almost any Mac, especially HTML/CSS.

3. Pharmscott macrumors 6502a

Pharmscott

Maintaining two machines is a hassle. If you can do what you need with the rMBP and a monitor, that will make your life easier. Easy = happy.

4. mad3inch1na, Jun 2, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2014

mad3inch1na macrumors 6502a

Pharmscott brings up a good point. It can be a pain keeping all your work on two computers. If you aren't doing heavy editing for hours at a time, the iMac is not needed. It is much more powerful than the rMBP, but it may not be very useful to you. Also, don't expect an iMac to be released until October-December.

If you did get the iMac and the MBA, I don't know why you would get maxed out versions of both. It seems like a waste of money. The iMac will give you about 10x more graphics power and about 2x the processing power of the MBA, even if the MBA is maxed out. Many people do professional work on the MBA, but if you also have an iMac, there is no reason to do heavy lifting on the MBA.