Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

meth31783

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 9, 2003
central connecticut
i just recently bought one of the new dual 2.0 g5's, anyhow i'm in the process of transferring files over from my old dual g4. I connected the two via firewire in target disk mode and was able to access the main hard drive. Now ?i have two other seperate hard drives i installed in the g4 with all my other files but i can't access those. How would i go about accessing them?

The other thing i was wondering about is how i could go about connecting the two so i could still take advantage of my old g4's hard drive space, i.e. using the g5 but saving massive files to the g4's hard drives. I'm rather new to connecting the computers together so any help would be greatly appreciated.

pncc

macrumors regular
Jul 23, 2002
meth31783 said:
Now ?i have two other seperate hard drives i installed in the g4 with all my other files but i can't access those. How would i go about accessing them?

The other thing i was wondering about is how i could go about connecting the two so i could still take advantage of my old g4's hard drive space, i.e. using the g5 but saving massive files to the g4's hard drives. I'm rather new to connecting the computers together so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Easy. Both of your CPUs have Gigabit ethernet so just buy a CAT6 crossover ethernet cable and setup file sharing between the two. You will get respectable speed (?20MB/sec) and it's cheap.

If you already have the G5 connected to the Internet, tell me your exact setup including what modems, routers and/or hubs you have.

meth31783

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 9, 2003
central connecticut