Need some help with RAM.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jdaniel, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. jdaniel, Jun 22, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2011

    jdaniel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #1
    So my local store here in Asia sells these 4gb ram modules for something like $48 USD each but the part numbers are as follows:
    KVR1333D3S9/4G FOR PC1333 this would be for the 2011 mbp 13"
    KVR1066D3S7/4G FOR PC1066 and this for mid 2010

    http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/con...ww.kingston.com/asia&ktcpartno=KVR1066D3S7/4G

    The link is what I got for searching the 1066 version... now if I search by model of my mac I get a different part number and also doesnt list all the details
    KTA-MB1066/4G and KTA-MB1333/4G.

    Is there a difference? I was told that the above ones are valuram and the KTA ones r specific to the system.. now my question is since they dont list the tech specs for the KTA ones online how can I compare? If I go by a 3rd party website http://www.ramcity.com.au/product/KIN1-AMKPRO-4G-07.htm it reads exactly the same.

    I prefer to buy local if possible then I would not have to deal with shipping etc.
     
  2. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
  3. deadwulfe macrumors 6502a

    deadwulfe

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #3
    Apple Tech Specs for the 2010 MBP 13"
    PC1066 is the appropriate speed for your notebook's supported memory handling capability. The PC1333 may or may not down-clock to match the appropriate speed of your notebook.
     
  4. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #4
    oh no I was thinking of using the pc13333 for the 2010, thats for the 2011.

    What I am concerned about is discrepancy in model numbers for something that seems to be the same. Except one they say is for the mac and one they dont say.. but upon closer inspection of 3rd party sites they seem to be the same.. I just need some clarification from someone who is familiar with such things.
     
  5. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #5
    I bought a local brand strontium when installed it says 1067, so I dont know if I got the right stuff? anyone with stock ram can take a look for me n tell me if ECC is enabled or disabled and does it say 1066 n ur system?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
  7. DWBurke811 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #7
    1067, I dont see anything about ECC, but I know mine doesn't support it.
     
  8. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #8
    so all in all you see what I see except for the ram size eh? THANKS for the help. :) I just wanted to make sure although it does say 1066 on the box and in apples specs so I was a bit thrown off by the 1067
     
  9. DWBurke811 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
  10. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #10
    GREAT ! so its the same *sigh of relief* THANKS
     

Share This Page