Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mcintosh184

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 19, 2007
I am thinking about getting the new macbook (heres a link) ...

http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APP...browse&mco=520F94DC&node=home/macbook/macbook

Anyways, i was wondering have much of a difference in speed it is compared to my current imac

http://www.macworld.com/products/apple/complete/product00070_detail2.php

Any insight would greatly be appreciated. I've never used a mac laptop before (or laptop at all). From what I understand the only hit i will be taking is I won't be able to play games on it, which sucks, but thats why i have a xbox 360, right? I can't afford the macbook pro so that option is out. Anyways, can any macbook owners give there impressions on the laptop and the how different going to the laptop from the imac will be? Thanks for any responses.

PlaceofDis

macrumors Core
Jan 6, 2004
in terms of raw power, the Macbook is going to be much faster than the iMac. i have the 2.0Ghz iMac G5 (pre iSight model) and while they hold up pretty well, the MacBook is overall snappier and a bit more powerful processing wise. the only drawback as you say is in the graphics department. but between the iMac and the Macbook, there is little difference between the two playing WoW (for me at least, others have different opinions about this). although the Macbook isn't ideal for gaming, having a smaller screen and less space to dissipate heat, the fans kick in fast, but for occasional stuff, it works.

MS Office takes a long time to load, but thats because its running under Rosetta, but once its open there are no issues that i've had.

anything specific you'd like to know?

mcintosh184

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 19, 2007