Need Steps to Jailbreak my iphone 3g 2.2.1 firmware

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by applefool, Mar 15, 2009.

  1. applefool macrumors member

    applefool

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #1
    After reading reviews nearly all day, I have decided that I would like to jailbreak my 3G Iphone. Please walk me through these steps. :apple:
     
  2. bruinsrme macrumors 601

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
  3. lostfan916 macrumors 6502a

    lostfan916

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    #3
    Download quickpwn.

    If you are running 10.5.6 sign up for an Apple Developer Account account and download the disk image “IOUSBFamily-315.4-log.dmg” for Mac OS X 10.5.5 Build 9F33” Restart.

    Run quickpwn. Allow it to detect it. Let it build the custom ipsw. Then you'll have to hold down home and power for ten seconds then let go of the power and keep holding the home for ten more seconds. It will install and you haz success.

    Once you've finished go back to the ADC site and download the disk image “IOUSBFamily-327.4.0-log.dmg” for Mac OS X 10.5.6 Build 9G55”

    Restart and you're down. Not that hard.
     
  4. Nabby macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #4
    What he said... Piece of cake. It takes longer to download the Apple files than it does to jailbreak the device.
     
  5. applefool thread starter macrumors member

    applefool

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #5
    wrong firmware

    i'm actually running 2.2 firmware and i have a turbo sim in the phone already. so i dont need to unlock just jailbreak. are the steps the same?
     
  6. TexanMan05 macrumors regular

    TexanMan05

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #6
    I think you have to have 2.2.1 firmware..that's what I had anyway.. to jailbreak using the newest QuickPwn.. so you don't change the baseband and lose the unlock you should upload the newest firmware manually...

    http://blog.iphone-dev.org/

    info towards the middle of the page
     
  7. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #7
    lol, you linked them but maybe didn't read the dev team's site? Unfortunately, you can't unlock with 2.2.1 nor can you use QuickPwn with 2.2.1. If you use Pwnage Tool, you can create a custom .ipsw in Expert mode that will not upgrade your baseband.
     
  8. TexanMan05 macrumors regular

    TexanMan05

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #8
    Um.. incorrect. You can unlock with 2.2.1 if you apply it without upgrading your baseband. That was the point being made. It states in there to use Pwnage tool and that is why I gave him the link. Thank you very much, good day sir. :rolleyes:
     
  9. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #9
    Um, incorrect. :) You need to use Pwnage Tool, not QuickPwn, that's the point I was making. If you use 2.2.1 as you stated with QuickPwn, you won't be able to unlock. There was some confusion in your post and I was just clearing it up.:rolleyes:
     
  10. Airforcekid macrumors 65816

    Airforcekid

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    United States of America
    #10
    :apple:Download quickpwn very simple on screen directions! Then when done open cydia then download steffwiz then download all sources and your realy set!:apple:
     
  11. TexanMan05 macrumors regular

    TexanMan05

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #11
    He is already unlocked lol he wants to JailBreak.. so use Pwnage to put the 2.2.1 firmware on his iPhone so that the baseband remains the same and he can THEN use QuickPwn to jailbreak it, since QuickPwn is fast and easy.

    I unlocked a 2G and a 3G yesterday and jailbroke them AND they have 2.2.1 so I know what I am talking about :rolleyes: ;)
     
  12. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #12
    You sure? I think I know what I am talking about too. :)

    You can Jailbreak 2.2.1 as long as you use Pwnage Tool and don't update baseband. This is for the 3G of course, the original iPhone (there's no such thing as a 2G) doesn't apply. So if you use Pwnage, it's already jailbroken and you don't need QuickPwn. You just download yellowsn0w and unlock your phone. For having jailbroke yesterday, you seem to have your processes a little off...
     
  13. TexanMan05 macrumors regular

    TexanMan05

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #13
    :confused: My head hurts. To each their own I guess. I see what you are saying, I just think it's easier to restore with a custom firmware then use QuickPwn to jailbreak..rather then Pwnage but like I said before, to each their own. I only like pwnage for the custom firmware.. to build a .ipsw.
     
  14. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #14
    If you restore with a custom firmware (made with Pwnage Tool, expert mode), it IS jailbroken though. How is doing more work easier? :)
     
  15. TexanMan05 macrumors regular

    TexanMan05

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #15
    I upgraded to 2.2.1 but kept the baseband the same then used QuickPwn. Maybe I am an idiot. Either way you win here is your virtual Apple trophy:
    :apple:
     
  16. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #16
    It's not a contest bud. These forums are meant to help folks and confusing them doesn't help. Here's your "sticktoitiveness" award however...
     
  17. applefool thread starter macrumors member

    applefool

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #17
    aight im slow

    :apple:still haven't moved on it yet. i just want to recap though:

    I am currently running OS 10.4.11. I have a 3G Iphone running 2.2 firmware. I haven't been updating just because I have my phone unlocked with a turbo sim and didn't know if the upgrade would cancel the unlock out.

    All I want to do is Jailbreak the phone. I honestly don't care what I need to do to get it done but I'm not gonna lie I am getting a little confused with the arguments.

    Please respond if you can coherently tell me the site to go to download what it is I need. Now that I have correctly explained everything that I'm working with I'm going to move on with whatever you guys tell me. I just need directions for dummies.

    Thanks. I love these forums. :apple:
     
  18. TexanMan05 macrumors regular

    TexanMan05

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #18
    http://blog.iphone-dev.org/

    Get the pwnage tool (links at the bottom) and make a custom firmware with it. Then restore with that custom firmware.. you are now upgraded to 2.2.1 but the baseband is the same. Then you can use pwnage again to jailbreak and unlock or you can use QuickPwn. Choice is yours.

    Read that blog.. it explains stuff in detail.

    This is the link I gave you in the beginning. I apologize for my juvenile rant with another user.
     
  19. applefool thread starter macrumors member

    applefool

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #19
    restore specs...

    just went through the steps to create custom firmware with pwnage tool. it said i has success then to quit itunes and open it back up and click the restore button with the custom firmware.

    i hit the restore button in itunes but it looks like it always does. and now its downloading software offline. will be done in 25 mins. is this right? should i let it update like this with my turbo sim in. hope i didnt screw up. how do i know its updating with the custom firmware ??
     
  20. TexanMan05 macrumors regular

    TexanMan05

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #20
    WOAH stop.... okay unplug the iPhone.. stop that Apple download.. turn off your iPhone..then hold the home button while plugging your iPhone into your computer.. iTunes will say you need to restore.. you can choose what to restore from.. just choose the file you created with pwnage..
     
  21. applefool thread starter macrumors member

    applefool

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #21
    dont see it

    only have one option to restore and its right under update. should go through the pwnage again?
     
  22. applefool thread starter macrumors member

    applefool

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
  23. applefool thread starter macrumors member

    applefool

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
  24. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #24
    Did you brick it ??

    Edit: Guess not

    The idea is to use the file you created, not the Apple file.
     
  25. TexanMan05 macrumors regular

    TexanMan05

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #25
    Okay when you click restore in iTunes hold Shift then click restore and you should be able to choose your newly made custom firmware.

    http://tysiphonehelp.com/?p=1570

    There I found you a very step-by-step guide that can most likely explain it a lot better then I can. :)
     

Share This Page