Need tips on "Clean" OS-X install and migrating apps on new iMac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by carves, Jun 30, 2014.

1. carves macrumors member

Hey all. I have a late 08 MBP that's getting long in the tooth. I just ordered a 27" late 2012 iMac- 8GB RAM, 2.93 Ghz i5 processor. I have two questions...

1) It comes with Mt. Lion preinstalled. I think one reason my old machine is so slow is all the OS upgrades it has endured since Tiger. I'd like to start with a "Clean" install of Mavericks. Can I do this, or do I just go to the app store and do an upgrade as my first step

2) I've accumulated a lot of software over the years that I no longer have hard-copies for...such as software I got when I was a student, and software i got from a company I used to work for. Is there anyway to get some of this software over to the new machine without making it a clone of my old laptop and all of its baggage?

Thanks

2. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

1) Just open the App Store app and purchase Mavs then download it and stop the installer. Then use an 8GB USB key and this utility to make a Mavericks installer key. Then option key boot to the USB key and erase the entire disk and install Mavs. That will give you a clean install with nothing but the OS on there.

2) If it is software that used an installer and has support files outside the main application, then you will not be able to just move these over. They will need to be resintalled and have the reg. info entered. MS Office and Adobe apps for example use installers.

3. carves thread starter macrumors member

Damn- office and adobe are a couple of the things I had in mind. If I just do a time machine restore to the new computer will it work?

Also, if I do a clean install of Mavericks instead of an upgrade, I suppose that means I also delete any free software the machine comes with, like iLife, right?

4. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member