Need to change C2D Macbook MAC Address

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Littleodie914, Apr 17, 2007.

  1. Littleodie914 macrumors 68000

    Littleodie914

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #1
    Yep, ya heard it right guys. I need to somehow change the MAC address of my built-in ethernet port. I tried using:

    sudo ifconfig en0 ether [new mac address]

    And the new address shows up when I run ifconfig again, but in the System Prefs it remains the old value. Any ideas? Thanks! :)
     
  2. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #2
    I believe that mac address is handled at the chipset, that's the only way that i've read that you can change it.

    I'd have to read up on it more
     
  3. JuJuBeee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    This thread also seemed to indicate that it does not work on Intel Macs for some reason:

    http://www.macgeekery.com/gspot/2006-04/mac_address_spoofing

    You checked at sys prefs that your MAC had not changed...is it possible to check at the router level using the router config tools? That would be a more meaningful inspection.
     
  5. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #5
    I haven't had any luck either with this. Maybe ifconfig lladdr and the like are depreciated?
     

Share This Page