Need to extend Airport 802.11ac network

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by iTurbo, Sep 19, 2013.

1. iTurbo macrumors member

I am in need of extending an Airport network. I am the head maintenance guy at a large apartment complex, and would like to get my Airport network to extend from my on-site apartment to our shop, so that I can browse internet and place orders at our shop without having to go to my apartment to access the internet.

Today I got a new Airport Time Capsule and have it setup working great. I have my 2013 iMac plugged in via ethernet and it's working great as well. I have an 11" MBA showing up next week to help me keep up with work remotely.

I'm really hoping that because the Time Capsule and MBA both have 802.11ac, that I will have extended range enough that I can get online with my MBA at our shop so I can place maintenance orders from work and get email without having to resort to the cellular connection on my iPhone 3GS. As it is now, the Wifi connection on my iPhone 3GS drops just before getting to the shop while connected to the Time Capsule in my apartment.

If that is not possible, I'm wanting to extend the Airport network using an additional Airport Extreme. There are some maintenance storage garages about midway between my apartment (where the Time Capsule is) and our shop. If I plug in an additional Airport Extreme in one of those garages, can I expect to extend the 802.11ac capabilities all the way to our shop?

I would love to have internet access in our shop so that I can browse the maintenance catalogs and place orders, get email....maybe even use Netflix after hours because I hang out there a lot. Thanks for the help/suggestions.

2. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

FreakinEurekan

If your MacBook gets a good wifi signal at the maintenance garage, then you should be fine putting your extender AirPort there.

3. iTurbo thread starter macrumors member