Need to "go back" with MBP A1226

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SNWBARU, Jan 24, 2016.

  1. SNWBARU macrumors newbie

    SNWBARU

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    #1
    I mistakenly upgraded my MBP way to far, To Yosemite. My stats are in my signature.

    If there is a thread I couldn't find, please link in your reply.

    I would like to use a 40GB External HD, throw on there my files, passwords, FF browser links and things and then do a clean install of the best choice OS for this build Macbook Pro.

    I'm just not certain how far ahead I can safely go. I would trade performance for "Latest and greatest", So if Leopard is the best I can do and run smoothly, so be it.

    Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated....as...I ..am..now using my work computer at home...windows :(

    Thanks in advance for any replies.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 24, 2016 ---
    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4985676?start=0&tstart=0



    You can purchase Snow Leopard from the Apple Store and update it to 10.6.8.

    PPC apps will not run in Lion or Mountain Lion so, if you have a lot of old software, you should stop there.

    If you want the latest OS you can skip Lion and go directly to 10.8.3 via the App Store app found in Snow Leopard. None of Apple's newest software or OS's ship on DVD's and all must be purchased and downloaded using the App Store. If you have a slow internet server stop at Snow Leopard
    .


    Does anyone disagree with the above ? If so, why ?

    All I do is internet, videos and pictures. I do not game or anything Video card heavy like that.
     
  2. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #2
    In my experience, Mountain Lion runs fine on that machine.
    If you don't already own it, I don't believe it can be purchased on the App Store. But it is available from Apple via the online Apple Store: Link.
     
  3. SNWBARU thread starter macrumors newbie

    SNWBARU

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    #3
    Digging thru our S/W stash, I found Leopard and Snow Leopard on original Disc.

    Thoughts ?
     
  4. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #4
    - You can simply purchase ML from the Apple Store (which will give you an App Store download link) and create your own installation medium using DiskMaker X. Then install ML straight from there.
     
  5. SNWBARU thread starter macrumors newbie

    SNWBARU

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
  6. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #6
    - I suppose you could. I'd just use an 8GB or higher USB thumb drive, though.
     
  7. SNWBARU thread starter macrumors newbie

    SNWBARU

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
  8. MultiFinder17 macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #8
    FWIW, I have that same MacBook Pro (I have the 2.2GHz version, but it has 4GB RAM and an SSD), and it runs El Captain like a champ.
     
  9. SNWBARU thread starter macrumors newbie

    SNWBARU

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    #9
    I am not having such luck. Mine is really angry at Yosemite LOL.

    Everything is slow, pages take forever, desktop is slow and Youtube videos skip and lag... I had the HD tested at a place near by and the did not want to sell me a new HD as mine passed their tests, for what that is worth.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 24, 2016 ---
    This seems like a good idea as my disc's are Imac discs :(

    I may try Internet Recovery.
     
  10. MultiFinder17 macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #10
    If it's the original HDD that the machine came with, it's nearing a decade old now. Even if the HDD is nominally fine, an SSD is so much faster; it honestly made this old fella a usable machine again. If you still like the machine and think you'll hang onto it for a while longer, I'd strongly consider sticking an SSD in it. 120-240GB SSDs are getting below $100 these days.
     
  11. SNWBARU thread starter macrumors newbie

    SNWBARU

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    #11
    If they gu sub $100, I may consider it.

    This place also tried to guide me away from that even through they had one. And if a salesman tries to NOT sell me a product I don't need I tend to trust them more than other up-salesman, know what I mean ?
     
  12. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #12
    A 250GB SSD is quite a bit below $100 and will truly transform how your computer feels.
    For example: http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-2-5-I...ref=sr_1_1?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1453658323&sr=1-1
    Currently $85.
     
  13. MrAverigeUser, Jan 24, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2016

    MrAverigeUser macrumors 6502a

    MrAverigeUser

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Location:
    europe
    #13
    Snow Leoprad as well as Mountain Lion are still easy to purchase in the apple shop for just 20 USD (but I don´t know if this will stop one day…) :

    http://www.apple.com/shop/product/D6377Z/A/os-x-mountain-lion

    http://www.apple.com/shop/product/MC573Z/A/mac-os-x-106-snow-leopard

    I used my machines (15" cMBP 2011 with 8GB + SSD and 2012 cMBP 16GB + SSD) under SL just until 1 year ago and now for one year under ML and they are both really fast. NO problem at all.

    Upgrading to 6-8 GB will cost much less than 40 USD and a prime 500 GB SSD is under 200 USD.
    This will transform your machine - though "only" SATA I or II it will nevertheless feel like a "new" one. You will be very impressed!
     
  14. SNWBARU thread starter macrumors newbie

    SNWBARU

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    #14
    Yeah, I found that.

    I erased my HD, and tried Internet Recovery.... I will only give me Yosemite... Le sigh...
     
  15. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #15
    - Your machine doesn't support Internet Recovery. You mean the local Recovery Mode, and that can only be used to install the version of OS X you currently have.
    Even if the machine did support IR, it would give you the version the machine shipped with (!), not Yosemite.

    You can go the route I suggested perfectly fine with ML. I've done it myself on an A1226.
     

Share This Page