Need to make Partition Bigger

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by redsoxfan320, Jan 15, 2012.

  1. redsoxfan320, Jan 15, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012

    redsoxfan320 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #1
    Alright so a few months back I partitioned my 320 GB SATA, so that I had two partitions that main one for Lion set at 200 GB and the other 120 GB for Windows 7. Well within the last week I ran out of space on my Lion Partition and attempted to delete the Windows 7 and I did but every time I attempt to expand the 200 GB into the free space in the Disk Utility.


    Not sure if anyone knows what to do. Thanks

    Update:

    Here is a screenshot, hope this helps
     

    Attached Files:

  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    It seems, there is some info missing. What is it?

    Btw, how did you remove the Windows 7 partition?
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    Through the bootcamp utility you should be able to remove the windows partition and then using the Disk Utility expand your partition. I've done it before w/o any issues. My only recommendation is when ever working with partitions - make sure you have a recent backup
     
  4. redsoxfan320 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #4
    I did it through Disk Utility and just erased the partition and then if I remember correctly I just deleted it. I will update the original post with a screen shot

    ----------

    The bootcamp utility only shows that I can install windows, with the remove windows bottom grayed out. Its already been removed and alright.
     
  5. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #5
    you should be able to drag the bottom corner of Machintosh HD to the bottom of the grey area to expand it

    http://macs.about.com/od/applications/ss/diskutilitysize_3.htm
     
  6. redsoxfan320, Jan 16, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012

    redsoxfan320 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #6
    I know I "should" be able to do that but an error always pops up after a while. I will try again now,thanks

    update - It didn't work again, new pics in op
     
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    Have you tried REPAIR DISK yet?
     
  8. redsoxfan320 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #8
    No, whats that?
     
  9. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #9
    click the "First Aid" tab you should see repair
     
  10. redsoxfan320 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #10
    I tired this multiple times as well as doing it in recovery with the install disk, no luck.. Hmmm. Don't know what to do
     

Share This Page