Need to open an application in a specific language

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by xShane, Jun 3, 2014.

  1. xShane macrumors 6502a

    xShane

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    Hi there,

    I need to open an application in a specific language, one that is different from the one my OS is set in.

    • Manually going to the preferences and changing the language back and forth is not an option, as I might be opening and closing this language multiple times, very frequently.
    • It's not an Apple application so I'm not sure of the 'defaults write' method via terminal (as I don't know what the language preference would be named).

    Has anyone accomplished this or know how to accomplish this?

    P.S. I'm running Mavericks.

    Cheers
     
  2. r0k macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #2
    I wrote an OSX application with localization for half a dozen languages. I've never tried switching languages in my app other than switching the entire OS. I would think a terminal command containing "defaults write" is just a terminal workaround for doing the same thing changing the Language setting in System Preferences. I have noticed that if I switch language, it only affects apps I launch after making the change. Then I can switch it back when I'm done.

    I googled for this and found some help here. So apparently there are ways of doing this outside of System Preferences. I'll use one of these methods the next time I need to test my own app. Thanks for bringing this up!
     
  3. I'm a ROb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #3
    Automator

    How about writing an AppleScript or automater script/application that changes the language in the system prefs, launches the app and resets the language in system prefs?
     
  4. xShane thread starter macrumors 6502a

    xShane

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    Thanks for the info. I was aware of 3rd party applications to do the trick but I'd prefer not to use 3rd party applications if I don't absolutely have to.

    This is actually a good 'hack'. I wonder if there would be any implications with this, however (of changing the system language back and forth multiple times, possibly frequently).
     
  5. r0k macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #5
    Having done it countless time in the testing of my app, I would say there are no implications involved. As for avoiding third party apps, not so fast. Many of them are simply nicely packaged Applescripts. If you're nervous, install only from the app store or if you're not quite as nervous install only from registered developers. My app falls in the latter category and can run with "allow apps from registered developers" in System Preferences.
     
  6. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #6
    Simplest solution might be VMWare Fusion running a 2nd instance of Mavericks in the other language.
     
  7. chown33 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #7
    When I was testing localizations, I made a new user and changed its language preference. Then I'd quick-switch to that user, et voilá.

    This has the side-effect of maintaining a completely separate set of preferences for that user. For me at the time, that was an advantage. It may be a disadvantage for you.
     

Share This Page