Need to overclock 27" iMac 5750 in Windows, but need help

Discussion in 'iMac' started by tehpwnerer19, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. tehpwnerer19 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    #1
    I have the 2010 27" iMac, i7, 8 GB RAM, 1 GB 5750, etc., etc. A couple months ago I installed Windows 7, it recognized my card as a 5850, I edited the MSI Afterburner file, and I could overclock it. Since then I installed Lion on a partition and for some reason I could no longer boot into Windows. So I wiped the Windows and Lion partitions, installed Windows 7 w/ SP1, and now my card is recognized as a 5750 instead of a 5850. Apparently MSI Afterburner has changed a little too as the code was different, but I assume that the lines:

    [ATIADLHAL]
    UnofficialOverclockingEULA =
    UnofficialOverclockingMode = 0
    AccessibilityCheckingPeriod = 0

    Should be:

    [ATIADLHAL]
    UnofficialOverclockingEULA = 1
    UnofficialOverclockingMode = 1
    AccessibilityCheckingPeriod = 1

    Unfortunately MSI Afterburner is still showing it as a 5750, which doesn't bother me, but I can't overclock anything. What am I doing wrong, or what do I need to do so that I can overclock this? Thank you in advance.
     
  2. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #2
    what.
     
  3. flipster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    You can install a Lion partition if you want too, everyone has been doing it (I could careless).

    As for over clocking, i would be interested in how to do this with my 8800 GS ???
     
  4. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #4
    It seems like something very pointless to do.

    Anyways, is it your windows operating sytem or just MSI Afterburner that doesn't recognize it as a mobility 5850? Could just be a simple matter of updating drivers from amd's website.
     
  5. tehpwnerer19 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    #5
    It is both Windows and MSI Afterburner. Perhaps something was changed in SP1? I DLed the latest drivers from AMD, but that did nothing.
     
  6. CaoCao macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #6
    Wait, isn't it a Mobility 5850 so it's basically a desktop Radeon 5750?
     
  7. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #7
    no only parts on the card are , apple always picks the things they get cheaper
    and fits them inside a iMac , i was lucky to get a processor that never officially was build by intel , a core solo T1400 where a second core was enabled , which intel is usually selling cheaper because they cant promise that both cores work ..or something along that line ...
    and the same for the GPU and certainly for other parts inside
     

Share This Page