Need to quit iTunes to install Xcode 6?

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by dejo, Jun 2, 2014.

  1. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
  2. PatrickCocoa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #2
    Steve Ballmers says hi!

    ummm . . . .dlls?
     
  3. aaronvan Suspended

    aaronvan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    República Cascadia
    #3
    Aren't DLLs Windows-specific?
     
  4. dejo thread starter Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #4
    Care to elaborate?
     
  5. PatrickCocoa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #5
    I'm too old for this . . .

    It was a very funny, humorous reference to Windows' old habit of every installation of any program screwing up every already installed unrelated program as the new installation updated .dlls that the old installations relied on.

    No relation to any OS X or iOS situation other than analogous app-A-installation-has-weird-relation-to-unrelated-app-B.

    Thanks, I'll be here all week. Don't forget to tip your waitress!
     
  6. dejo thread starter Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #6
    Damn that two-drink minimum! :mad:

    P.S. Sorry I missed the intent of your post. Thanks for the clarification. :)
     
  7. Madd the Sane macrumors 6502a

    Madd the Sane

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    Utah
    #7
    That has always been the case for installing Xcode. Or quitting Xcode to install iTunes updates. Those two do seem to modify shared resources that both use.
     
  8. mjar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    #8
    Can i get xcode 6 installed without developer account?
     
  9. 960design macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #9
    Absolutely, it will be available in the fall.
     
  10. mjar, Jun 3, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2014

    mjar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    #10
    Thanks, but i mean the beta version, now.
     
  11. 960design macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #11
    Correction!!

    It looks like there IS a public beta available for the first million. I misunderstood. Get it now!
     
  12. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #12
    Possibly Webkit is among them, seems to be used throughout the OS & app set.
     
  13. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #13
    They share a private framework for communicating with iOS. I believe this is why you can't update one with the other open.
     

Share This Page