Need to reformat my HD?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by IronicTrout, Sep 2, 2012.

  1. IronicTrout macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #1
    I am trying to install windows 7 on my mac and I get to the partition drive step in bootcamp and it tells me I need to reformat my HD to Mac OS Extended (Journaled). I checked the format in Disk Utility and it says thats what it is. I'm not really sure how to format the drive or if I even need to. Any help would be awesome.
     
  2. joec1101 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    So Cal, USA
    #2
    The BootCamp partition needs to be formatted with NTFS. You can do this with your Windows7 install disk while running the BootCamp Assistant wizard.

    Windows will not recognize or install on a Mac OSX formatted drive.
     
  3. IronicTrout thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #3
    I thought I could do it from an iso file? I downloaded it through the engineering program at my school.
     
  4. IronicTrout thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #4
    I don't know if I can bump threads, but I need some help. :(
     
  5. murphychris macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #5
    Post a screen shot of the error, I don't understand what error message you're seeing. Also post the results of the following:

    Code:
    diskutil list
    diskutil info /dev/disk0s2
    diskutil resizevolume /dev/disk0s2 limits
    
    I'm going to guess that you're using FileVault 2 in which case I'm pretty sure you have to completely decrypt your disk (disable FileVault 2) in order for the Mac OS X volume to be resized. Then you can reenable encryption on the resulting shrunk volume.

    I highly advise using a VM instead of Boot Camp. And I highly advise you don't mention you need to use Boot Camp because you want to play games (I'm a dick when it comes to helping people waste time on games).
     
  6. IronicTrout thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #6
    The error:
    http://imgur.com/ZghG6



    The script:

    Macintosh-58b035aa7ab6:~ $ diskutil list
    /dev/disk0
    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk0
    1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
    2: Apple_HFS Macintosh HD 999.9 GB disk0s2
    /dev/disk1
    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk1
    1: EFI 209.7 MB disk1s1
    2: Apple_HFS 999.9 GB disk1s2
    Macintosh-58b035aa7ab6:~ $ diskutil info /dev/disk0s2
    Device Identifier: disk0s2
    Device Node: /dev/disk0s2
    Part Of Whole: disk0
    Device / Media Name: Macintosh HD

    Volume Name: Macintosh HD
    Escaped with Unicode: Macintosh%FF%FE%20%00HD

    Mounted: Yes
    Mount Point: /
    Escaped with Unicode: /

    File System: Journaled HFS+
    Type: hfs
    Name: Mac OS Extended (Journaled)
    Journal: Journal size 81920 KB at offset 0xaa8b000
    Owners: Enabled

    Partition Type: Apple_HFS
    Bootable: Is bootable
    Media Type: Generic
    Protocol: SATA
    SMART Status: Verified
    Volume UUID: AA1E9702-1654-3665-A484-17206F204DF0

    Total Size: 999.9 GB (999860912128 Bytes) (exactly 1952853344 512-Byte-Blocks)
    Volume Free Space: 671.7 GB (671721054208 Bytes) (exactly 1311955184 512-Byte-Blocks)

    Read-Only Media: No
    Read-Only Volume: No
    Ejectable: No

    Whole: No
    Internal: Yes

    Macintosh-58b035aa7ab6:~ $ diskutil resizevolume /dev/disk0s2 limits
    For device disk0s2 Macintosh HD:
    Current size: 999.9 GB (999860912128 Bytes)
    Minimum size: 338.7 GB (338726162432 Bytes)
    Maximum size: 999.9 GB (999860912128 Bytes)

    also I do want to run windows to run games. I cannot do this in VMware. I don't know if it is my computer or the software, but it is way too laggy to play games with.
     
  7. murphychris macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #7
    What size for Macintosh HD are you setting in Boot Camp Assistant? The diskutil command is suggesting the minimum size it can be resized to is 338.7 GB.

    ----------

    Also what is /dev/disk1? Are you trying to install Windows on that disk, or one the same disk as Macintosh HD?
     
  8. IronicTrout thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #8
    I was trying for 250. that might be my problem. dev/disk1 I have to assume is my external and I am trying to install it on the Macintosh HD.

    If that is my problem is there any way to make it be able to partition to 250?
     
  9. murphychris macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #9
    :confused: Umm, no, and I quote from the data you gave:

    You're currently using 328GB of space so no you can't make it smaller than what you're already using.

    Maybe you're confused and you want to give Windows 250GB, leaving 750GB for Macintosh HD but that's clearly not what you asked Boot Camp Assistant to do.
     
  10. IronicTrout thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #10
    That is though. When it brings up the partition slider I slid it so the windows side would be 250gb.
     
  11. murphychris macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #11
    OK when I asked what size you were making Macintosh HD, you answered 250GB. And now you're saying you set the Windows side to 250GB. Either you were confused the first time or you're confused now.

    Let's try something else, first make sure you have a backup of important information. Somehow people keep screwing this part up, especially the Boot Campers and they end up with data loss. Don't say you weren't warned, it happens a lot.

    Reboot single user mode, command s at the startup chime. And then:

    Code:
    fsck -fy
    After that:

    Code:
    fsck_hfs -r /dev/rdisk0s2
    This might take a while, depending on how many files you have. By a while, 10 minutes on average, but it could be 30 minutes, or more. Just be patient.

    Code:
    reboot
    Now try Boot Camp Assistant again.
     
  12. IronicTrout thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #12

    Yes I was confused initially, but I meant that I was trying to give the Windows partition 250gb. Whatever you told me to do fixed my problem, but I tried to install it with the .iso file, and it doesn't have an option for it. Is there anyway for me to do it using the .iso?
     
  13. murphychris macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #13
    Have you read the boot camp guide? I think it explains this in there. I haven't tried it. BCA is looking for a specific kind of ISO (I think Windows 7 only) to make a USB boot stick.
     
  14. IronicTrout thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #14
    I have a windows 7 iso on an external which I assume doesn't make a difference. I read the guide, but it was kind of unclear what exactly I needed to do.
     
  15. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #15
    Burn the Windows image to DVD if your Mac has an optical drive.
     
  16. murphychris macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #16
    You either burn a DVD, or you make a USB stick. You only get the USB media installer option if you have a relatively recent Mac.
     

Share This Page