Need to replace old-style Airport Express, but new model won't fit in my networking box

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by slobizman, Jul 17, 2016.

  1. slobizman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #1
    I have an old Airport Extreme, probably about 8 years old. It seems to have gone wonky on me. I've tried everything including resetting to factory defaults. Anyway, the point is I need to replace the unit. However, it is mounted into a wall unit electrical box, which is not deep enough to hold the new style "vertical" Airport Extreme that is meant to sit on a desk. It's about an inch too wide. This new design really sucks for my situation.

    So, I'm stuck with a choice of replacing it with another used (or I think some are still boxed on Amazon) old-style Airport Extreme, or with another brand unit that does the same thing. Of course I'd rather stay with Apple, as all my Airport Expresses, my Airport Time Capsule and all our devices are Apple.

    Which is the best choice? And if non-Apple are there any recommendations, warnings?
     
  2. DaveOP macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    I had the new style Airport Extreme for a while, but switched to a Netgear Nighthawk in my new place. The range is MUCH better, and it has been running since February with no restarts needed. I have been extremely impressed, and I have a mix of macOS/Windows machines, with iOS and Android mobile devices. No problems across the board.
     
  3. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
  4. slobizman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #4
    Thanks. I've seen that. I would just have to mount it outside the electronics box and pass cables from it, through the wall, and into the box. Not too elegant, but it's been a possibility.
     
  5. Beerstalker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    #5
    What kind of wall mounted electrical box are you putting this in? It sounds to me like it would cause temp issues, and could be hurting your WiFi signal. It's probably a bad idea to have any router inside of it.
     
  6. komatsu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #6
    From my experience, loads of users loved the plug-in Airport Express and found it very practical as they could place it
    in a corridor or hall without trailing wires.

    (Just another example of why I think Apple are losing touch with their customers)

    A useful alternative might be something like this:

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K07YT8?psc=1
     

Share This Page