Need to run IE on my Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Secundinius, Jul 11, 2009.

  1. Secundinius macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #1
    I don't want to run IE on my Mac, and frankly it's a scary thought, but I need IE to do my computer class tests.

    Does anyone have any suggestions and/or know where to download it? Again, if it weren't for school, I wouldn't bother. The only system this test it programmed for is IE (why is just completely beyond me).
     
  2. BayouBengal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Houston,TX
    #2
    If you in college/university you may have access to free or deeply discounted copies of Windows, run it in coherence mode with Parallels and it will look like IE is running right there in OSX.
     
  3. Lixivial macrumors 6502a

    Lixivial

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Between cats, dogs and wanderlust.
    #3
    You should be a bit more clear. Are you on an Intel Mac? If so, you have far more options than PPC.

    ies4osx allows you to run prepackaged instances of WINE configured only for IE6 and IE7 instances. Intel-only. It puts a nice little .app on your desktop which launches WINE and IE for you, it requires X11 to be installed, but beyond that, it's very straightforward.

    Internet Explorer 5.2.3 for Mac is the last shipping version of IE: Mac. It doesn't use Trident, which is the rendering engine used in Windows versions of IE, and it doesn't use WebKit, so it's pretty pointless to use. It's also PPC-only so it'd be run through Rosetta, and all the overhead that comes with that. This also doesn't support ActiveX, which is probably why you're being forced to use IE, so it's rather pointless.

    You could run it from within a VMWare Fusion or Parallels instance. If you're on PPC, your only recourse is probably using Virtual PC.
     
  4. Secundinius thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #4
    I bought it in March of '08. Not on it at the moment, so I can't see if it's an intel or not, but i'm about 90% sure it is. I'm also about 90% sure I have X11, so I'll give that one a try. Thanks you for that help and I'll let you know how it goes.
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    It probably still wont work ...

    The classes/tests usually rely on an ActiveX control, which is probably still Windows-only.
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    Everything since August 06 is Intel.

    Just use IE 5.5.
     
  7. surflordca macrumors 6502a

    surflordca

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #7
    Or Fusion VMWare which in my opinion is better than Parallels as I have used both...
     
  8. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #8
    If it is truly and ActiveX issue, then there is really no way around it
    You will have to find a way to run a Windows version of IE... and there are many options for this

    However, if it is just checking for IE, you can go into Safari's preferences, add the Developer Tab and click on User Agent and select the version of Internet Explorer you want to mimic

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  9. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #9
    You might also want to consider Crossover for Mac, and if that doesnt work VirtualBox is a good free VM.
     
  10. Secundinius thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #10
    I don't think it's an ActiveX issue. I believe it just has to do with the program being written to run on IE.

    I tried using FireFox, but it said it will only work with IE 6 or 7.

    Thanks for the tip Dawg. Will try as soon as I get home.
     
  11. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #11
    Did you try my suggestion in post #8?
    Some have had good success with doing this

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     

Share This Page