Need to set up e-commerce site

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Enlightened1, Feb 5, 2014.

1. Enlightened1 macrumors newbie

Greetings, I have found lots of useful information from this site in the past, but now have a specific question that I could not find an answer to. Forgive me if a similar topic has been discussed, but it is difficult for a web-ignoramus such as myself to filter through all the topics when I don't speak your language and don't understand most of your terminology.

I am a newly trained physician and would like to offer medical advice via an e-commerce web store. Unfortunately, as I am fresh out of training, I do not currently have the means by which to hire a web builder/designer to assist me. I can't even afford cheap right now.

The gist is of my potential website (without getting into too many details) is that a customer, seeking medical advice, would access my site, pay a fee then send me the required documents. I would then analyze the material and send back my report via regular mail/shipping. I do not plan to have this capability initially, but possibly later, I may want to have a repository on my website whereby the customer could login and review their documents and my report(s) online. Initially, I plan to only send them their hardcopy reports.

So, I need a website with a shopping cart for only a handful of possible charges. My research has led me to hosted shopping carts such as shopify or bigcommerce. This seems the easiest way to set up a shopping cart/website without having to worry about the myriad of hosting issues. It seems I could design the website using the templates they offer. The reason I am hesitant, however, is that these seem more aligned for people with numerous products to sell, when I would only have a few charges. Also, I would just like some reassurance from those who are more knowledgable/informed than myself.