Need to setup headset

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by JakeHinojosa55, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. JakeHinojosa55 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #1
    So I just bought a headset yesterday and It said its compatible with mac, linux, and windows. So I have it all connected and I try to set it up with mumble and it doesnt work. The headphones on it works but not the mic. Do I choose port audio or core audio for my headset mic? And default device or built in input? Can somebody help with with this I've tried my best to figure this out but no luck.
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    It'd help to know what the headset interface is...
     
  3. JakeHinojosa55 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #3
    huh??
     
  4. JakeHinojosa55 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #4
    its a GE (95701) Headset if that helps at all. and i am using a macbook.
     
  5. JakeHinojosa55 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
  6. JakeHinojosa55 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
  7. IvanLasston macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #7
    Is the headset USB or all analog? If you plug in 2 plugs into the side of your macbook then it is analog. Anyway - go to system preferences -> sound -> input and select "line in" as your input - if that is how your microphone is plugged in. If it is USB then you should see USB as an input choice. Otherwise by default it uses the built in microphone.
     
  8. pcman2000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
  9. JakeHinojosa55 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #9

    It doesnt work
     
  10. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #10
    You still haven't answered the question. One plug or two?
     
  11. JakeHinojosa55 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #11
    The computer? A headphone jack and another thing that doesnt look like a mic but i assume it is. The headset? headphones cord and mic cord.
     
  12. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #12
    In that case, you should select  -> System Preferences -> Sound -> Input -> Line In. You should see the bar beside "Input level" move as you speak/tap the mic/whatever.
     
  13. JakeHinojosa55 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #13
    Thats the problem, it doesnt work on that. I dont understand what im doing wrong. I have the volume up on it.
     

Share This Page