Need to take GRE

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by HE15MAN, Jun 29, 2013.

1. HE15MAN macrumors 6502a

HE15MAN

I have been procrastinating taking the GRE for three years now, but I am now determined to get it taken this summer so I can hopefully enroll in Spring classes. I have really struggled with math so that is my biggest fear I guess.

I work with two people that have taken the new test, one bombed it and had to go to a private school which cost about twice as much as a state university, and the other did awesome on it.

The program I am hoping to get into requires that you take either the GRE or GMAT, with the minimum score of being 450, or the GRE equivalent of the GMAT 450. The GRE equivalent would be scores roughly of145-150 on each section.

Any tips, advice etc? My strengths are reading, science history etc..

2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

Don't some schools waive the requirement if you've been out of school for a long time? After having graduated, of course.

My advice, study and find a tutor for math. Take all the practice exams. Worst case would be you would have to retake it but I understand that could be risky.

3. HE15MAN thread starter macrumors 6502a

HE15MAN

Not that I have noticed. I havent been out long enough for them to care I am sure.

4. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

That's always worth asking first. Then I'd study and take practice tests until I had it nailed. A tutor is an option if things aren't going according to plan.

5. HE15MAN thread starter macrumors 6502a

HE15MAN

6. GermanyChris macrumors 601

GermanyChris

so not studying and taking practice tests is better?

There are GRE prep classes, just like there are GMAT prep classes, combine that with studying and taking practice tests and you have a chance at succeeding.

I would start with not being afraid of a test, there are many things in life more scary than a test.

7. mobilehaathi macrumors G3

mobilehaathi