Need to use ActiveX on my mac HELP!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by maw4bc, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. maw4bc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    #1
    I am needing to run ActiveX to use some billing software for my medical practice. Is there any way to use ActiveX on mac? The "software" is a web based client but it has to run ActiveX on IE. Which is completely frustrating. I did a bit of searching but most of the info was old. Anyone have an answer for me? Other than running bootcamp or parallels?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Mac OS X doesn't support ActiveX. Windows is your only option.
     
  3. maw4bc thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    #3
    Ugh. That's what I thought. This would work if I did bootcamp or Parallels though correct?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Yep.
     
  5. maw4bc thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    #5
    Ok thanks. Why do people still use that BS to program?
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    Good question! I've never run into a need for it in over 4 years of using Macs exclusively.
     
  7. samh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    #7
    You could also do VMWare Fusion or VirtualBox (which is free). Of course you do need a Widows license still..,
     
  8. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #8
  9. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #9
    Because many people consider it a safe platform since it can tie into windows which is regarded as a platform that “everybody” has. It’s very flawed thinking but it is safe (Windows has a very very large share) and MS pushed it during the days where they were pushing IE as a web browser.

    It made the web “richer” back in the IE 3.0 days and people kept with it since IE had massive market share.
     
  10. maw4bc thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    #10
    I don't just need IE to work on my mac I need IE AND ActiveX to be functional. I am not sure that ActiveX will work with this method. Do you know by chance?
     
  11. sammich, Jul 12, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2012

    sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #11
    Yes it does work with ActiveX, it's kinda why I suggested it ;)
     
  12. maw4bc thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    #12
    Awesome! Thanks!
     
  13. April Frost macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    #13
    Hi Sammich, I realise this is a very old thread, but I'm hoping you see this. I have a similar problem in that a company I just started working for wants me to install their Excel workbook that generates prewritten emails through MS Outlook and uses ActiveX. It was designed for Windows, and I have a Macbook running Excel for Mac 2011, so it's giving me all kinds of error messages and says the Mac doesn't support ActiveX and lets me open a read-only version, saying that if I make changes or try to save it, it will delete the unsupported content. Will this fix work for me? If I install VirtualBox and an IE (you think IE6 is best?? Or IE11?), will the Excel program somehow find what it needs to generate the emails? (I'm assuming it's ActiveX that generates them)
    Thanks in advance!
     
  14. Kcetech1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    #14

    will not, IE6 is totally obsoleted and you are best off going with bootcamp and IE11 ( not sure if edge supports that Outlook linking ) in Windows 7, 8.1 or 10. you may as well get office 2013, 2016 or office 365 for windows as well as VB/ActiveX in Office for Mac is horrid or non existent.
     

Share This Page