Need tunnel to access blog from China

Discussion in 'macOS' started by PaperQueen, Mar 14, 2009.

1. PaperQueen macrumors 6502

PaperQueen

Seriously. The subject line isn’t just for effect.

I’m returning to Beijing in a few weeks, and would like to continue blogging from there. Last spring, I was able to reach Blogspot and my work email the first night, but the next morning, both were completely cut off. No email...couldn’t get to my own website...nuthin.’

Since then, I’ve moved my blog to another one of my websites, this one advertising that I’m also a journalist (not a plus in that neck of the woods). Ideally, I’d like to keep posting to the blog from Beijing, but have a feeling I’ll need to tunnel my way there from China. ;)

Anyone have a good solution? Have you tried something that really works? The only references I find in a search here pops up threads that are a couple of years old. Admittedly, I might not know the correct terms to search, since this is virgin territory for me....

Thanks!

2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

China goes a bit overboard with their internet blocking. A search term to help you out would be 'proxy.' I don't know if using a proxy will help getting around their blocks, but would be a good place to start.

3. briansolomon macrumors 6502

briansolomon

I have a friend moving to China and he wants to blog about it while he is there. I'd be interested in what needs to be done, too!

OP, Does skype work there?

4. bluefin Guest

personal vpn service

I've been living in China for a few years now and have found a personal VPN service to be the most reliable and worthwhile method to use.

Or, you could use a free proxy server through your browser, but I have found those to be slow and can limit your browsing experience.

Two of the most reliable VPN services I have found are: StrongVPN and Witopia personalVPN.

Both consistently supply high bandwidth speeds and are very reliable...

Cheers

5. bluefin Guest