Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

roaldbergmann

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 7, 2010
Hey guys.
I'm really a fish out of water here. But I'm in great need of some help. But I really don't know if this is he place to get it (maybe you can point me in the right direction?).

Case:
I have a very important InDesign-file (CS5) that's been toasted. I'm getting the notorious (and rare) "error 5"-message. The file can't open no matter what I do. I've figured out that this error could be because I've been copy pasting big images into the ID-document instead of using Place (silly me). I didn't make a backup (stupid me).

I've heard that Markzware have made an extension program for Quark Express 8 (which i have just downloaded in trial) called ID2Q that makes Quark open ID-files. Even files that have the error 5. My problem is now this: There's no trial version availible of ID2Q and since I'm a student with empty pockets I can't afford to by the software for the aprox. 200$.

Therefor I'm looking for someone that might have the software lying around and would be willing to get my file (I've put it up on a ftp-server) change it into a quark-file and return to me. I should then be able to open it in ID and save it again as .indd - at least that's what i read around the web is my ONLY solution.

Looong post, I know. Sorry. Do ANY of you where to get this kind of help?

Thanx.

Roald from Barcelona

Blue Velvet

Moderator emeritus
Jul 4, 2004
...change it into a quark-file and return to me. I should then be able to open it in ID and save it again as .indd

Nope, that won't work. InDesign can only open Quark files from versions 3.3 or 4-4.1. From QuarkXpress 5 and upwards, Quark locked InDesign out. Like InDesign, QuarkXpress will only save down one version, so even if someone managed to open your corrupted file in Quark 8, they'd only be able to return a Quark 7 or 8 file back to you.