Need Urgent Help With iMac Hardware!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by morne111, Nov 27, 2014.

  1. morne111, Nov 27, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2014

    morne111 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    #1
    Hi Guys.

    I live in South Africa. Here we cant customize our Macs, we have to select from a range of pre-configured iMacs.

    So recently I've been looking to buy a new iMac. I found the perfect one for me. The iMac 21.5-Inch: 2.7Ghz quad-core Intel i5 APPLME086.
    Here it costs R17999. http://www.istoreonline.co.za/product-view/10142/imac-215-inch-27ghz-quad-core-intel-i5/path/14

    So my problem is that, when I went to my local Apple retailer, he told me the version i want only has the integrated Intel Iris Pro graphics. On Apple's South African websites it says: Intel Iris Pro graphics
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M graphics processor with 1GB of GDDR5 memory.

    Does it contain both GPU's or just one?

    After the guy told me that he said the much more expensive iMac 21.5-Inch: 2.9Ghz quad-core Intel i5 APPLME087 (R20999)(http://www.istoreonline.co.za/product-view/10143/imac-215-inch-29ghz-quad-core-intel-i5/path/14) has the Gt 750m GPU and the APPLME086 doesn't. Where as on the website is says both.

    I'm really confused. So far the only difference between the two of these are a 2.7Ghz Quad Core CPU and a 2.9Ghz CPU.
    Is that the only difference? (So far if I compare them on the apple website it says so)

    I need the GT 750M GPU for the work I'm planning on doing. But I don't want to make a wrong purchase.

    Any help would be appreciated!
    Thanks.

    EDIT: Forgot to add I inpected the APPLME086's box and on the spec side it said only Iris Pro where as on the APPLME087's box it clearly said GT 750M. On the APPLME086 demo unit if you go to About This Mac it says under graphics Intel Iris Pro.
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    The 2.7GHz model is Iris Pro only. If you want a dGPU then you need to move up to the 2.9Ghz
     
  3. morne111 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    #3
    Thank for clarifying. I'm still wondering why it says it has the GT 750M on the website?
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    I'd chalk it up to an error on the retailer's part.
     
  5. joshlalonde macrumors 6502

    joshlalonde

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Seems to be a mistake
     

Share This Page