Need WoW quest addon

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by gamerz, Jan 12, 2008.

  1. gamerz macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #1
    Hello,

    Anybody know of a good quest and map addon for WoW that shows where the quest item or thing that you need to kill is??? I have cartographer, but have no clue how to use it, or even know if it does show you where to go for a quest.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. NAG macrumors 68030

    NAG

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    /usr/local/apps/nag
    #2
    Do you really need it? Not to be mean but the quest descriptions usually tell you where to find stuff.
     
  3. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #3
    I used to have one that did what you describe (worked in conjunction with Cartographer), can't remember its name but can probably find it on wow.curse.com. However, I found that it bugged out the game's UI so I tossed it. Personally I'd just switch to windowed mode and go to Thottbot or Wowhead for quest help like coordinates for where to go.
     
  4. rjames86 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    I don't think they still make Monkey Quest. I think the new one is called Monkey Buddy? Not sure. Just use wowhead.com
     
  5. merc669 macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #5
    Try Questhelper. I use it on my MBP with no issues. And it does help. Only problem I am not fond of is the waypoints that come at the top of the screen. But it does give direction and distance. Here is the link;

    http://wow.curse.com/downloads/details/9924/

    Bill......:apple:
     
  6. gamerz thread starter macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #6
    Thanks, I have quest helper now, along with Cartographer. Quest helper worked GREAT, went 38-40 in 4 hours! However, I logged out to do other stuff, and when I logged back in, for some reason it didn't work. Any ideas?

    Sometimes after a few minutes it will load or do whatever it needs to do, but now its not working at all.
     
  7. airwalke macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    #7
    I use an add-on called Lightheaded... it contains a database of all the comments on any particular quest from Wowhead.com. If Questhelper doesn't do what you want it to, I would try that.
     
  8. merc669 macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #8
    This may not be a factor in your issue. But I was having an issue that when doing an Instance when we would kill a Boss an Uncommon, Rare or whatever object would be there you normally get a window that pops up with the options for either "Need" or "Greed". Mine did not and had stopped for some reason which you can see is very frustrating when doing an instance! Multiple folks said it was an add-on. So deselected add-ons and tried this with no luck. Finally a guild mate told me he had a different problem at one time that turned out to be a corrupted file in his "WTF" folder in his WOW Directory and when deleted created a new WTF Folder. The downside to this is that its like starting over again initially. Your characters are still there on the server but you have to navigate back to your proper realm and then add or check which add-ons you want. Its a pain in the behind but it corrected my issues. One other thing. I use a program called "WowMatrix" that goes out and updates my addons. There was an issue with Questhelper causing problems with WOW after the 2.3.1 patch but appears to have been fixed with the latest update of it. Hope this helps!

    Bill......:apple:
     
  9. gamerz thread starter macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #9
    Thanks, I'll try it after school.

    And by reselecting addons, are they still in the interface addons folder when you install it again, or do you need to find them all again?

    anyways thanks.

    EDIT: hehe, do you need to re-instal TBC also? And should I delete WoW altogether, or just re-install and write over it?
     
  10. merc669 macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #10
    No. You do not need to reload WOW or TBC. Biggest pain in the behind is once you login it will ask what realm you want to go on just like you first installed it. Let it select the realm and then just find your original realm. It will show characters there. Select that and your back in. Next is to go into the addons and select those you want. You will have to move spells and actions in the different buttons like when you first did it. Like I said, a pain but it worked. One thing I did was as a safety net was to just rename the original "WTF" file to something like "WTF_OLD". Then restart WOW. This way if necessary you can always delete the new one and then rename the "_old" one back to "WTF" and your back to square one. If all works after the new "WTS" file then you can errase the old one. Or hang on to it for a BU. It does not take much room.

    Bill......:apple:
     
  11. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #11
    WOW I went from 38 - 43 in 4hrs with just my usual coords mod (can't remember which one of my mods puts em on there I use a few) and WoWHead.

    Once I leveled at lvl 40 while doing the last of my quests, I turned in the quests I was working on and leveled to 41 just from turnins.

    The trick isn't the mods, I mean come on. Having a quest helper is good but you might as well take it a step further and run a mouse proggy that moves your char for you.

    Yes coords mod helps A LOT even for someone like me who has probably does the same quests to lvl 60 at least 3 times in 3 years (I took a very long break) and several failed and bored to death twinks and mid level chars (most of which I just deleted) and now I'm leveling a mage now on pure quests alone and all I have is my usual UI mods which add the coords and wowhead for the things that are not directly explained in the quest log.

    I once watched a person bounce from npc to npc and when he was done immediately started asking "where's this, where's that" and it was pretty much every quest he got. Rather than read the quest text he just wanted the answer. This sounds like what some of these mods are. I know that as you get higher in level some of the quests get more and more obscure.
     
  12. gamerz thread starter macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #12
    Quick Question before I begin the re-installation. What if you don't have a WTS folder??? I have a WTF, but no a WTS... Is it the same thing?
     
  13. merc669 macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #13
    Sorry my bad. Should have been "WTF". My apologies for the screw up. If you look at the WTF folder and dig down thru it it should have your profile, realm and character(s) in it. That's the correct folder.

    Bill......:apple:
     
  14. gamerz thread starter macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #14
    I re-installed it again, but instead of keeping the WTF and interface folder, I just deleted everything WoW.

    So it's re-installed, I got all the addons that I want again, etc, etc, log on, questhelper still doesn't work :confused:


    Ah, I'm starting to give up on it, anybody know of another good quest addon that shows you where to go for the quest?
     
  15. merc669 macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #15
  16. gamerz thread starter macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #16
    Okay, found a new addon called mobmap that works with cartographer. Downloaded it, same thing. Logged in, message says: "must download new patch for mobmap to work"

    Okay, did so. New patch, message doesn't pop up anymore, yay!!!

    Now, when I go into the addons list in game, beside mobmap it says: "needing dependancies"

    Any help now lol???
     
  17. merc669 macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #17
    If you hover over the addon sometimes it will show dependencies. Otherwise I would check the site and see if there is documentation or comments section. Curse is pretty good about that.

    Bill.......:apple:
     

Share This Page