Needing to keep restarting MacBook

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Maclover564, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. Maclover564 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #1
    Why do I need to keep restarting it? Its the newest model, I dont do anything to extreme, but it bogs down very easily and then its slow-ish so I restart it. How do I make it so that it just works? Should I install more RAM? I have 2GB pre-installed
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    what sort of programs do you run?

    are the programs CPU intensive? are they RAM intensive?

    how much hdd space do you have left?

    im guessing you need more RAM.
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    Upgrading to 4 GB of RAM is the cheapest and simplest way to get a performance boost

    But give us an idea of what you are using your Mac for, what applications you are using, what browser you are using, etc.

    The more information, the more likely you are to get help

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  4. Maclover564 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #4
    I use Safari. I really only go on YouTube, and MySpace, sometimes I use iMovie for video editing, iPhoto sometimes, iTunes often, word processing, just basic everyday stuff
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    even imovie and iphoto chew through the RAM.

    can you use the computer until you feel it is responding slowly, open up the program "activity monitor" - navigate to the "system memory" tab down the bottom and post the:
    VM size
    page ins
    page outs
    swap used
    information. that will be a better indicator for us :)
     
  6. ARF900 macrumors 65816

    ARF900

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
  7. Maclover564 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #7
    (I just restarted if that makes a difference in anything)
    VM size: 122.75GB
    Page in: 169.8MB
    Page outs: 0 bytes
    Swap used: 0 bytes
     
  8. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    yup restarting wont indicate anything to us im afraid. do what you normally do for a few hrs/days and get back to us :)
     
  9. Maclover564 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  10. mbestel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    #10
    Flash?

    When you said Youtube, my alarm bells started ringing. I have a machine with 4GB RAM and whenever it gets really slow, I take a look at the Activity Monitor and Safari and Flash Player are hogging all the memory.

    Once I quit and re-open safari (and possibly force-quit flash) everything settles down for a bit.

    Cheers,

    Mark
     

Share This Page