Negative watts on iStat

Discussion in 'iMac' started by 53x12, Nov 29, 2009.

  1. 53x12 macrumors 68000

    53x12

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #1
    I have been seeing some unusual numbers in iStat on my quad core. I see negative wattage numbers for the CPU and I can't make sense of it? I know the quad core is awesome, but never thought it could make negative power. :confused::eek:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. avihappy macrumors 6502

    avihappy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #2
    Your iMac is converting your pure amazement with it into pure energy. It converts more than it needs so it feeds the excess back into the grid, hence the negative energy. Look for a rebate on your next energy bill.
     
  3. 53x12 thread starter macrumors 68000

    53x12

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #3
    So does anyone else experience this? Is it just a problem with the program code for iStat?
     
  4. 53x12 thread starter macrumors 68000

    53x12

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #4
    So I'm guessing this is just a bug? Nothing to worry about?
     
  5. gjw4u macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #5
    OP, are you using the latest version of iStat?
     
  6. UAofE macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #6
    iStat pro was last updated in June. I'd bet is a bug from a sensor not compatible with existing code.
     
  7. steve31 macrumors 6502a

    steve31

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Location:
    Edmonton Canada
    #7
    Just checked my istat menus and its the same.
     
  8. 53x12 thread starter macrumors 68000

    53x12

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #8
    Yes I am. Have also checked for updates for which there are none at the moment.
     
  9. Gizmotoy macrumors 65816

    Gizmotoy

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    #9
    I see the same, and I also don't get any updates for Ethernet traffic in iStat Pro. It just sits there at zero. iStat Nano correctly reports the Ethernet traffic, though. Pretty strange. Are you guys seeing this as well?

    I put in a support request about it a week or so back, but haven't heard anything about a resolution yet.
     
  10. dave92029 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #10
    Utility Company owes me a refund

    My system also shows negative watts, so I must be sending power to the grid rather than consuming power, the Ultimate Green machine, thus my electric utility must owe me a refund...Cool:rolleyes:
     
  11. Firite macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    I have negative watts and a negative uptime. Did i just come from the past or something? lol

    My network doesn't display anything over airport either, despite me having a constant stream of file downloads.

    These are probably bugs with istat pro not being updated. I sent a DM to islayer about this. They said that they were working on it but could not release an update yet as they did not have an imac 27" to test on.
     
  12. 53x12 thread starter macrumors 68000

    53x12

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #12
    That is exactly what I have been thinking of as well!!! :D
     

Share This Page