Negotiate Salary

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by dukebound85, Aug 17, 2008.

1. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

Is it considered "wrong" to negotiate salary if you are a just graduated BS Mechanical Engineer?

I ask as everywhere I look, the avg entry salary is ~58k and the company Ive been offered jobs with have been 47k and 54k a year in Tx and NY respectively

I graduated summa cum laude so i somewhat feel i should be offered at least average but i feel within myself that it is hard to negotiate when i have no performance on the job since ive just graduated

what is your take? I will say the benefits with this company (both offers are same) sound really good as well so I dont want to be rude either hence why i come to my favorite hangout and ask for my fellow member's advice

let it be or try to ask for more?

do most employers anticiopate the applicant requesting more? ive heard that from somewhere as well. also heard the NY is more expensive to live in as well

edit: depending on the source, seems avg tends to range from 53-60k out of school but still advice for the future would be appreciated

2. rdowns macrumors Penryn

rdowns

FWIW, I always leave myself a little wiggle room when I make an offer to a potential employee that I really want to hire. I would be less inclined to negotiate with a recent grad with no real experience.

There is nothing wrong with trying to negotiate a better salary. A good way to bring it up is to ask what the potential for greater future earnings are.

3. dukebound85 thread starter macrumors P6

dukebound85

thats exactly the type of input i was looking for. this is all new to me so its a bit intimidating

4. cleanup macrumors 68030

cleanup

I can't give you any advice on this as I only negotiate commission prices here and there, but good luck on your new job! :)

5. Scepticalscribe Contributor

Scepticalscribe