Nehalem Mac Pro with 4870 and WoW (UI issue) - please help.

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Dragonforce, Apr 10, 2009.

  1. Dragonforce macrumors 6502a

    Dragonforce

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    London (Ealing) UK
    #1
    Heya,

    can anyone with the MP and ATI 4870 confirm graphic issues with the user interface, especially with the action bar ?
    Everytime when the UI should light up (e.g. after a cooldown or usage of an action) the lighting effect is distorted, flickering, messed up or completely missing.

    When I pop the GT120 back in, everythings fine.
    When I play with the 4870 WoW on Windows, everythings fine.

    Just WoW running on 10.5.6 with 4870 seems to have troubles.
    I already cleared the cache, interface, WTB and WTF folders, even reinstalled and patched from scratch, still happens.

    Anyone else ?
     
  2. rbarris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #2
    We don't have a 4870 based system to test against yet. If you can capture a short movie of the misbehavior and mail it in, perhaps with a copy of your system profile and config.wtf setup for the game, we'll check it out as soon as possible.
     
  3. Dragonforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dragonforce

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    London (Ealing) UK
  4. Dragonforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dragonforce

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    London (Ealing) UK
    #4
    Here are the two files.
    I'm sending a download link for the captured movie now.
     
  5. rbarris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #5
    Thanks for sending them along, I can see the problem with the spell highlights on the button bar. We have brought this to the attention of ATI and will file a bug with Apple on it.
     
  6. Dragonforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dragonforce

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    London (Ealing) UK
    #6
    Very kind of you, thanks a lot.
     
  7. Dragonforce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dragonforce

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    London (Ealing) UK
    #7
    Quick Update: 10.5.7 fixed this issue.

    Thanks again @ rbarris and :apple:
     
  8. sunman42 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #8
    And the 3870, too

    For what it's worth, I saw the same issue with WoW, the ATI Radeon 3870 for the Mac Pro (pre-Nehalem), and 10.5.6 and earlier. Gone under 10.5.7.
     

Share This Page