Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mrpepsi

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 21, 2002
Oklahoma
I'm new to Mac's and i was wondering if there is some software for burning cd's that is similar to Nero for the PC? For the life of me I can't figure out how to copy a cd on my iMac G4.

Forgive my newbieness.

Mr. Pepsi

mnkeybsness

macrumors 68030
Jun 25, 2001
Moneyapolis, Minnesota
use the disk copy utility in the applications folder to make a disk image of the one you want to copy and then mount the image to a blank disk...

...otherwise you can try roxio toast...but i heard that isn't compatible with 10.2

topicolo

macrumors 68000
Jun 4, 2002
Ottawa, ON
Yeah, I know how you feel mrpepsi. Nero rocks on the PC. You can also use itunes if you're burning music cds. Still, the built-in burner program on Mac OS X is much better than the windows XP version.

evildead

macrumors 65816
Jun 18, 2001
WestCost, USA
NERO for MAC!

NERO is out for Mac and has been for a while now. I like toast better but Nero is cheaper. You can get a trial version of it off the nero site.

I gess its not a very good seller if no one here knew that it exists.

-evildead

firewire2001

macrumors 6502a
Apr 2, 2002
Hong Kong
Originally posted by irmongoose

... yet.

irmongoose

P.S. I also reccomend Toast.. here is the link: http://www.roxio.com/en/products/toast/index.jhtml

what the heck are you talkig about? toast runs just fine with 6c115 on my machine..

i can even send you screenshots... your trouble porbably lies within the pref files, if you upgraded, instead of doing a clean install.. i did a clean install and it works fine..

-f

cb911

macrumors 601
Mar 12, 2002
BrisVegas, Australia
Nero is out for Mac!!! why haven't i heard of it??!!! does it have all the same features? i've gotta check this out!! :D

i just had a look at Nero's site & couldn't see anything about a Mac version. does anyone have a link?