nes emulator 2.0

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by almostaskater62, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. almostaskater62 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #1
    the nes emulator has been updated! runs on 2.0! very well i might add-

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    game saving doesn't seem to quite work though
     
  2. iamse7en macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
  3. smdphoto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #3
    How'd you get the ROM's into the phone?

    BTW - Yes, it's on Cydia's featured apps page now.

    Sam D.
     
  4. gazzer82 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #4
    You need to install openssh.

    Then use Cyberduck to sftp into your phones ip address. Username needs to be root and the password is alpine.

    You can then drop the roms into the correct folder on your iphone.
     
  5. almostaskater62 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #5
    yeah but you have to create two folders to put the roms into
     
  6. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
  7. adsk8er macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #7
    How To Make A Screen Shot....

    you take a screen shot by pressing HOME and POWER buttons together and letting go straight away......
     
  8. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #8
    oh awesome. THANKS.
    btw. ive tested this. works well. (havn't crashed yet)

    now we just need to wait for a gpsphone =)
    and a psphone
     
  9. cualexander macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #9
    I can't get this to work. I have NES emu installed. And I used cyberduck and SFTP'ed into my iphone with root alpine.


    I created a folder under /var/mobile/Media/ROMS/NES and I know I did that right because the emulator sees the files.

    It just returns the error message "Unable to load ROM image"

    Any ideas?

    BTW, this is a 2.0 Iphone 3G
     
  10. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #10
    What kind of ROMs are you using?
     
  11. accrane macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando
    #11
  12. emegmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #12
    Make sure its under var/MOBILE/media/ROMs/Nes.

    I was not putting them under mobile. There is a media when you log into cyberduck, that is not the right one. Go under library then mobile and make your folders. Hope this makes sense.
     
  13. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #13
    That looks awesome! Especially the retro controller! :D
     
  14. cualexander macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #14
    My roms are good. I don't know why they would be behaving as such. I will try to upload them again.
     
  15. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #15
    are u sure you have case sensetive folder names?

    also if it doesnt work, try ssh into it w/ terminal then
    chmod 777 the file.
     
  16. pj rage macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #16
    How's the control of the game with the touch screen and retro controller? Very smooth and easy to play the games? Or is this sort of thing that is cool, but not realistic to play games alot because the controller isn't all that great?
     
  17. emegmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #17
    This is the first time I put the NES on my phone. The controller is a little hard to use because you cannot feel the buttons. But you do get use to it, teh more I play the better I get at it.
     
  18. xxchefxx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #18
    how do i put rom onto my iphone using a pc thanks
     
  19. circusbass macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
  20. cualexander macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #20
    I figured out my problem. I don't know why this didn't work but here is what I was doing.

    On my mac, I had a share folder to a windows machine with zipped NES roms. I unzipped them from the share to my mac desktop, and transferred them up.

    Somehow something wasn't transferring right, because at work today, I pulled some roms down from my server and was able to transfer them to the iphone with WinSCP and they work fine.

    So maybe the whole FAT32 to HFS wasn't working out so well previously? Who knows.
     
  21. thermos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #21
    Ok, the save thing. Is there a command to make it work, like in the old days?

    ie chown -hR mobile /var/mobile?


    The answer....yes. Saves fine.
     
  22. almostaskater62 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
  23. almostaskater62 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
  24. LastZion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #24

    No!!!! Just checked it out, that was the best part, only tried 3 games, but didn't work, anyone get this to work?
     
  25. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #25
    Had this problem, checked under the correct path and all my ROMs were 0 bytes... I think this was the problem... hehe -- re transferring now..
     

Share This Page