Nest and Homebridge

Discussion in 'HomeKit, HomePod, CarPlay, Home & Auto Technology' started by AdamA9, Feb 13, 2018.

  1. AdamA9 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    #1
    Does anyone have Homebridge installed to allow them to connect to a Nest thermostat via the Home App?

    I've read through some of the instructions to set this up and it seems a little above my comfort level. Is it as simple as people make out? Are there any pitfalls to doing this, e.g., security.

    Many thanks
     
  2. alm99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #2
    I was able to get homebridge installed just fine, got the QR code and put into HomeKit, but then I tried to add the Nest plugin via these instructions: https://github.com/KraigM/homebridge-nest, and it all went to hell. JSON errors, I missed the token step and it doesn't help that I have no idea what I am doing.

    If I knew how to wipe the plugin and start over I would do it, but again, I am clueless. Sorry I am not much help.
     
  3. rworne macrumors 6502a

    rworne

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    Yes I have. It works pretty well.

    The issue is there are a multitude of websites that describe how to do it, but each one is missing critical steps.

    By far the biggest pain was getting the secure token from nest. That was not too difficult, the problem was the terminal window was cutting off the last few characters.

    But now Siri on the HomePod lets me know the temperature and also monitors the Nest Protects in the house as well.
     
  4. AdamA9 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    #4
    I've heard about some JSON errors. Fortunately, I understand enough to be able to correct these if I run into them.

    Thanks. My Pi arrives today. It comes with the NOOBS SD, so will just install Raspian and go from there. I also read about the developer account for NEST so I'll sign up and see how I do.

    I work with developers, who all have these so should be able to get some help, but I'd like to be able to do it myself first.

    I'll likely have a go at this tomorrow or Friday and report back with how I do. I'll also document what I do step by step if it helps anyone else.
     
  5. TrueBlou macrumors 68040

    TrueBlou

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Scotland
    #5

    Watch out if you’re editing your config files on a Mac. It has a tendency to bugger up inverted commas.
    Use something like Textwrangler, or run your file through a JSON validator before using them or it can cause all sorts of headaches.
     

Share This Page

4 February 13, 2018