Nested Dictionaries

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by GerardGrundy, Sep 8, 2013.

1. GerardGrundy macrumors newbie

Hi,

I'm a total beginner so please excuse if I totally phrase this wrong but I'm using 2 dictionaries. One is a main dictionary for storing the other dictionary that has 3 keys and objects. I'm trying to assign one of the objects of the inner dictionary to a a new key in the dictionary. though not sure how to call this dictionary and get the object. Here's my code:

NSMutableDictionary *dictionary = [NSMutableDictionary dictionary];
    NSMutableDictionary *innerDictionary = [NSMutableDictionary dictionary];

NSNumber *value = [NSNumber numberWithInt:1]
    [innerDictionary setObject:value forKey:mad:"key1"];
    [innerDictionary setObject:value forKey:mad:"other2"];
    [innerDictionary setObject:value forKey:mad:"andThis3"];

[dictionary setObject:spinCompareDict forKey:value];

This is called when the function is called.
    On the second call Im trying to grab the @"key1" and set it to @"andThis3" key though they are both nested in a disctionary with the key value which is set to 1. How could I do this?
    Thank you if you can help.

2. devilofspades, Sep 24, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2013

devilofspades macrumors member

right off the bat i can say your example doesn't quite match your question. your "spinCompareDict" is the only dictionaty nested in your "dictionary" dictionary, and you don't show any of its info so it will be hard to reference your example in the explination but i get what you are saying.

when dealing with nested dictionaries the best way is to you "kvc" or "key value coding". if you use something like "key.nestedkey", that would be how you access the nested dictionary in the first dictionary. i will be abriviating some of the syntax but im sure you will pickup what im getting at.

say for example...

NSMutableDict *nameDict1 = [[NSMutableDictionary alloc]init];
    [nameDict1 setObject:someObject1 forKey:key1];