.net on a Mac

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by anirudh, May 12, 2008.

  1. anirudh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Location:
    India
    #1
    Any ideas how to run .net package on a mac? I dont mean by installing windows on a mac, but running .net on Mac OS X Leopard. I need to run some GIS apps which need the .net package.

    Also, has anyone tried using the Front Row Remote on a windows OS installed on Mac? Specifically on Microsoft Office Powerpoint for Windows XP?
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    .Net is a Windows application framework, hence, it needs Windows.
     
  3. anirudh thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Location:
    India
    #3
    well, i remember reading on google somewhere that .net can be run on mac... are you sure?
     
  4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    I'm not 100% sure, but that's what I thought.

    If you think otherwise then why not google and find out? :confused:
     
  5. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #5
    You would need to recompile it using Mono. Do you have access to the source code?

    If not then maybe Wine would work, but it is unlikely.
     
  6. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #6
    All the stuff I can find points to it being a possibility half a decade ago, but I don't see anything since. I don't think MS has any interest in making .Net cross-platform, as they're very fond of locking people into Windows, for obvious reasons. But there's Mono, as pointed out... although I am not sure just how effective that it. Have you used it, Cromulent?

    I'd suggest Parallels or VMWare or another such app. I think that would work much better.
     
  7. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #7
    It has its problems, but then so does .net on Windows. Horses for courses really.
     

Share This Page