Net10 got better!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Tiger8, Dec 11, 2013.

  1. Tiger8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    #1
    Ok, so I was ready to jump ship with Net10 after they once cut off my data (I was updating apps on 3G and they thought I was tethering) and I had to deal with Customer service, but I have to say that I'm quite happy with their most recent changes: It used to be that they cut you off after 1.5 GB of data, they switched it to 2.5 GB of data, after which you get throttled (which actually is not a very bad speed at all, Pandora still works). Also the AT&T SIM cards are back in stock.

    One thing though is it seems they increased prices for resellers, I used to easily find the $50 plan refill for $40 or even $38, nowadays I pay $45, but - given the improvement in the service itself, I don't mind.
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
  3. Tiger8 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    #3
    4s
     
  4. solo118, Dec 11, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2013
  5. co.ag.2005 macrumors 65816

    co.ag.2005

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #5
    I know Straight Talk and Net10 are owned by the same company, but does Net10 do LTE like ST does now?

    EDIT: looks like ST is 2.5 GB now too (unless they've been there for a while and I didn't notice).

    EDIT2: yes, Net10 has LTE access... maybe I should have done some searching before asking the question... http://www.net10wireless.com/lte/

    thanks OP for bringing this to my attention, more appealing now than when it was just 1.5GB.
     
  6. solo118 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    #6
    Could not find if LTE works on their CDMA phones? That would be great.

    Otherwise for $50 a month, maybe ST is better (at $45/mo) if the service is identical. We now know that ST is very easy to set up and the only lacking feature is Visual Voicemail
     
  7. rockitdog macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    #7
    Won't touch Net10 or Straight talk or any other MVNO until they remove their throttling policies. I'd rather pay $20 extra/month and have unlimited LTE data speeds.
     
  8. m3nphls macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #8
    I doubt you get LTE with verizon and t-mo network. I activated a S3 from Sprint and got LTE, so only LTE on at&t and sprint network phones.
     
  9. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 603

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #9
    I can confirm that a Verizon iPhone 5s on NET10 (using the AT&T network) does use LTE.
     
  10. TsuaSai macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    TX
    #10
    I have a st iphone 5 using Verizon towers and I do not get LTE.
     
  11. Tiger8 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    #11
    That has been confirmed by many users, LTE is only for BYOP. But here is the kicker: Your phone accepts AT&T nano SIM so you can get one from ST (99 cent), pop it in, and call ST to move your 'service' to the sim card, and you will get LTE on your same phone. Haven't tried it myself (I have a 4s anyway) but if you google it a lot of people were successful.

    ----------

    Net10 is actually a better value - you get a $5 discount if you sign up with auto-refill ($45 + tax), in addition, most resellers on ebay sell refills for around $42 with no tax.

    It is also a better deal if you need a family plan; first line is $50, second line is $40, third and after it's $30, all of which get their own 2.5 GB of at least HSPA+
     
  12. gbrnole macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    #12
    i have a current net10 cdma service (verizon iphone 4) for my son, can i switch that service to a net10 gsm sim? preferably would like to do that mid month - upgrading his phone for santa day.
     
  13. TsuaSai macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    TX
    #13

    Maybe with a 5s but not a 5. Can't get AT&T LTE with a Verizon iPhone 5. I can't get their 4g which is better. When I bought the st iphone I got it cause I lived in a place where Verizon was the only option. Now I don't so I am thinking I might get a AT&T sim just so that I can at least use the 4g.
     
  14. TyShawn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #14
    Just a heads up I just looked at their site and its 50.00 for the first phone and 40 for every phone afterwards. I was looking at four lines and it came to 170.00.
     
  15. Tiger8 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    #15
    You are right, sorry I must have misread that.
     

Share This Page